APC Crisis: List Emerges as Dogara, Aspirants Seek Nomination Fee Refund

APC Crisis: List Emerges as Dogara, Aspirants Seek Nomination Fee Refund

Some aspirants of the All Progressives Congress (APC) who stepped down for consensus candidates of key positions during the last national convention of the ruling party are now seeking refund of the money they paid for the nomination forms.

Recall that President Muhammadu Buhari had ordered the APC's national chairman, Abubakar Adamu, to refund aspirants who sacrificed their political ambition for preferred candidates.

Buhari had asked APC's leadership to refund aspirants who stepped down for consensus candidates (Photo: Buhari Sallau)
Source: Facebook

The delay on the part of the APC's leadership to obey the president's order in this regard is brewing a crisis among the aspirants in question who are already aggrieved, having paid between N2.5 million and N20 million for the nomination forms.

A report by Punch has it that the APC, after the March 26 convention, raked in N700 million with an additional N3 billion from among stakeholders and party members before the presidential primary.

Read also

APC slams PDP over plot to sack national chairman Adamu, issues strong statement

Below are the names of the aspirants and who they stepped down for during the convention:

PAY ATTENTION: Follow us on Instagram - get the most important news directly in your favourite app!

Adamu: national chairman

  1. Senator Umar Al-Makura
  2. Salihu Mustapha
  3. Muhammed Sani Musa
  4. Abdulaziz Yari Abubakar
  5. Senator George Akume
  6. Mohammed Etsu

Abubakar Kyari: national deputy chairman (north)

  1. Yakubu Dogara
  2. Faruq Aliyu
  3. Sunny Sylvester Monidefe
  4. Senator Ken Nnamani
  5. Malam Isa Yuguda
  6. Emmanuel Joseph

Senator Iyiola Omisore: national secretary

  1. Adebayo Shittu
  2. Oyedele Ifeoluwa
  3. Prof Olaiya Olaitan

Victor Giadom: national vice chairman (south-south)

  1. Yekini Nabena
  2. Worgu Chambers

It was gathered by the newspaper that aside from the above-named aspirants, there are 113 other aggrieved politicians who are also yet to be refunded.

One of them who spoke with the media outfit without mentioning his name said:

“We know how much was raised at the convention and even the APC presidential primary. So what is the problem? We the party members are equally aware of how much was doled out for Osun and Ekiti elections. I still don’t get why Adamu is finding it hard to comply with the directive of the president.

Read also

2023: Nigerian youths will set the agenda for Tinubu, says Yahaya Bello

“The only reason we delayed in taking this issue to court until now was to avoid putting our presidential candidate, Asiwaju, in a bad light. But as it stands, we have no option but to head for court. Everybody knows what took place at the convention where we had to step down cannot be called an election. Perhaps, that’s why some of them in the NWC including Adamu has been acting with impunity.”

APC fixes cost of presidential, governorship forms

The APC had pegged the amount for its presidential form at the cost of 100 million.

The expression of interest form was fixed at N30 million, while the nomination form was to go for N70 million.

This was part of the decision reached during the National Executive Council (NEC) meeting held on Wednesday, April 20, in Abuja.

Source: Legit.ng

Onyirioha Nnamdi avatar

Onyirioha Nnamdi Onyirioha Nnamdi is a graduate of Literature and English Language at the University of Lagos. He is a Politics/Current Affairs Editor who writes on news and political topics for Legit.ng. He brings into his reporting a wealth of experience in creative and analytical writing. Nnamdi has a major interest in local and global politics. He has a professional certificate from Reuters and was awarded the editor with the best listicle for 2021. Contact: 08062988054, o.nnamdi@corp.legit.ng

Online view pixel