APC Presidential Primary: Shehu Sani Reveals Who Buhari Will Pick If Governors Give Him 5 Names to Choose From

APC Presidential Primary: Shehu Sani Reveals Who Buhari Will Pick If Governors Give Him 5 Names to Choose From

FCT, Abuja - Senator Shehu Sani, a former lawmaker from Kaduna state, has revealed who among the APC presidential aspirants President Muhammadu Buhari will pick if truly he was presented with five names to choose from.

PAY ATTENTION: Update Legit.ng App for free: the old version will be disabled soon

A report published by Daily Trust in the early hours of Tuesday, June 7, had stated that APC governors came up with a list of aspirants from which President Muhammadu Buhari is expected to choose.

Quoting a source, the newspaper said the list was submitted to President Buhari on Tuesday, June 7.

The source was quoted to have said:

“They picked one from south-east, one from south-south, and three from south-west geopolitical zones in line with their position that power should shift to the south."

Read also

Polls rate Chibuike Amaechi the most trusted politician to fight insecurity

The list has the following names:

  1. Vice President Yemi Osinbajo
  2. Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu
  3. Governor Kayode Fayemi
  4. Rotimi Amaechi
  5. Governor Dave Umahi

PAY ATTENTION: Join Legit.ng Telegram channel! Never miss important updates!

Buhari will pick "Dan Amanan Daura"

Reacting to the development, Sani who used to be a member of the APC, said if it was true that the governors submitted the five names to the president, he will pick "Dan Amanan Daura".

"If and only if actually the president is presented with “five names” and he is to pick,he will pick Dan Amanan Daura," Sani tweeted.

Legit.ng's findings show that Rotimi Amaechi, former minister of transportation, is the one Senator Sani is referring to.

In February, the former minister was "crowned as the Dan Amanar Daura, the Trusted Laureate of Daura," according to Vanguard.

APC governors reduce proposed special aspirants list to three, names revealed

Read also

BREAKING: APC Govs reduce proposed special aspirants list to 3, names revealed

Meanwhile, latest reports have indicated that the five-man list has been pruned to three aspirants with Tinubu, Osinbajo and Amaechi making the proposed list.

However, the proposal is not a binding decision but a suggestion to Buhari who has requested them to assist prune down the 23 aspirants for consensus.

Other aspirants, particularly Kayode Fayemi and Yahaya Bello, are kicking, saying that they are still in the race.

Source: Legit.ng

Nurudeen Lawal avatar

Nurudeen Lawal (Head of Politics and Current Affairs Desk) Nurudeen Lawal is an AFP-certified journalist with a wealth of experience spanning over 8 years. He received his B/Arts degree in Literature-in-English from OAU. Lawal is the Head of the Politics/CA Desk at Legit.ng, where he applies his expertise to provide incisive coverage of events. He was named the Political Desk Head of the Year (Nigeria Media Nite-Out Award 2023). He is also a certified fact-checker (Dubawa fellowship, 2020). Contact him at lawal.nurudeen@corp.legit.ng or +2347057737768.