After Mass Defection From APC, Kano NNPP Releases List Of Consensus Candidates For 2023 Elections

After Mass Defection From APC, Kano NNPP Releases List Of Consensus Candidates For 2023 Elections

  • The NNPP in Kano state has chosen its consensus candidates for all elective offices ahead of the 2023 polls
  • The party has Abba Kabir Yusuf and Aminu Abdussalam as its candidates for governorship and deputy seats
  • Ibrahim Shekarau, a former governor of the state, has been given the Kano Central ticket as agreed by all aspirants of the party

Kano - Ahead of the 2023 general elections, the New Nigerian Peoples Party (NNPP) has released a comprehensive list of candidates for elective seats in Kano state all of who emerged by consensus arrangement.

For the governorship and deputy seats, the NNPP has Abba Kabir Yusuf and Aminu Abdussalam respectively as its candidates in the northern state.

Kano NNPP consensus candidates for 2023 elections
Shekarau emerges senatorial consensus candidate (Photo: @AbdulAbmJ)
Source: Twitter

Both Yusuf and Abdulsalam had contested for the gubernatorial position on the platform of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in 2019 but were floored by Governor Abdullahi Ganduje.

Read also

Another influential northern governor's son joins contest for House of Reps. seat

For the senatorial offices, a former Governor Ibrahim Shekarau has the Kano Central ticket, while a former executive secretary of the Tertiary Education Trust Fund, TETFund, Abdullahi Baffa is the flagbearer for the party’s ticket in Kano North.

PAY ATTENTION: Join Telegram channel! Never miss important updates!

For Kano South, the ticket was given to a former presidential adviser on National Assembly, Kawu Sumaila.

The lists of the candidates for the House of Representatives and House of Assembly are contained in the photos below:

Kano NNPP House of Representatives consensus candidates
All aspirants agreed to the list (Photo: Daily Nigerian)
Source: UGC

Kano NNPP House of Assembly consensus candidates
The list was released by the leadership of the party (Photo: Daily Nigerian)
Source: UGC

Kano NNPP releases consensus candidates' list
Names of NNPP Kano consensus candidates for House of Assembly (Photo: Daily Nigerian)
Source: UGC

Kano NNPP list
Kano NNPP releases list of consensus candidates for 2023 elections (Photo: Daily Nigerian)
Source: UGC

Ganduje’s commissioner of finance dumps APC, defects to NNPP ahead of 2023

Meanwhile, Shehu Na’allah, the Kano state commissioner of finance and economic development, had defected from the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) to the NNPP.

Na’allah defected to NNPP alongside his former boss, Senator Ibrahim Shekarau, on Wednesday, May 18.

Read also

Teachers' union president beats majority leader, grabs APC governorship ticket gathered that he was immediately selected as the consensus candidate for Kura/Madobi/Garun Mallam Federal Constituency after joining the NNPP.

2023: Kwankwaso unopposed in race for NNPP presidential ticket, Buhari’s former ally Buba Galadima reveals

Buba Galadima, a former member of the board of trustees (BoT) of the APC, had said that Rabiu Kwankwaso was the unopposed presidential hopeful of the NNPP.

Galadima disclosed the former Kano governor is the only person who purchased the presidential nomination form of the NNPP.


Online view pixel