APC Primaries Enter The Final Stage In Lagos

APC Primaries Enter The Final Stage In Lagos

The well-organised National convention of the All Progressives Congress (APC) goes on at Teslim Balogun stadium, Surulere, Lagos.

The main action is expected to start after 8pm, December 10, 2014. Latest reports indicate that all of the APC Presidential candidates will contest and none of them is in position to step down immediately.

Legit.ng brings you the live updates from the crucial political event.

READ ALSO: APC National Convention - Introduction & Photo Report

09:50 The names of the five aspirants are being mentioned during sorting of the ballot papers. However, most of the delegates have left the venue.

09:37 Sorting of ballot papers is in process.

09:31 The contents of the 40 ballot boxes have been dumped into one big ballot box.

08:50 The returning officers of the presidential aspirants asked to proceed to the main ballot box.

08:34 The voting at the APC contention is over.

08:13 Sokoto and Taraba delegates prepare. The marathon voting will be concluded by the representatives of Yobe and Zamfara.

08:02 33 States have voted so far.

07:20 Lagos, Nasarawa States completed voting, representatives of Niger State are up next.

06:35 Delegates from 21 states finished voting in the primaries.

05:57 Kaduna State delegates are voting.

05:52 Delegates of Jigawa, it's your turn!

05:45 Imo State representatives are invited to cast their votes.

05:37 Gombe and the Federal Capital Territory will follow.

05:31 Enugu State delegates are asked to vote.

05:11 Announcement at the stadium: "Delegates from Delta, we assure you that you will all vote, please be assured that you will vote, we appeal to you."

04:32 Borno State delegates invited to cast their votes.

03:05 The first batch of voters are about to receive the ballot papers. Call for Abia State.

02:45 The procedure: 7214 delegates are accredited for the election. The states will be called based on the alphabetical order. Upon completion of the voting, all the ballot boxes will be uploaded into a giant ballot boxes. Then the process of sorting and counting starts.

02:30 Delegates to vote in state batches.

02:28 Alhaji Atiku Abubakar, General Muhammadu Buhari, Governor Kwankwaso, Governor Okorocha and Sam Nda-Isaiah have spoken to the delegates, in the alphabetical order.

01:11 The speeches are over. The 5 aspirants appear on the stage.

00:59 The National Woman Leader of the APC and the Youth Leader, Dasuki Jalo, addressed with their goodwill messages to the delegates.

00:50 Audu Ogbe, Senator Danjuma Goje gave their brief remarks.

00:34  Tinubu speaks, urges the APC members to support whoever wins.

00:28 Tambuwal delivered his goodwill message.

00:00 Former chairman of the ANPP, Ogbonnaya Ono, gives his speech. Bola Tinubu, Aminu Tambuwal and a couple of more speakers shall unveil their messages. Then the voting starts.

23:50 Dr. Muiz Banire, the legal adviser of the party, is on the podium presenting the constitution of the party for ratification.

23:34 APC Chairman John Oyegun speaks about the state of the party and unveils its manifesto. The party is to focus on six issues, including security, human capital development, foreign policy, natural resources.

23:33 An ex PDP Chairman, Barnabas Gemade, who defected to the main opposition force, makes public and formal appearance at the event.

23:32 A minute silence has been offered for the victims of terrorism in Nigeria.

23:25 Governor Fashola addresses the convention.

23:11 The 3rd APC National Convention Chairman, Dr. John Kayode Fayemi, gives a welcome speech.

23:08 The opening prayers by Olabiyi Durojaiye and Bala Na’Allah are underway.

23:01 The national anthem is being played. The official proceedings are about to start.

22:57 Surprisingly, Kwankwaso is now going round the stadium to 'hail' delegates, No Kano trip for him?!

22:43 General Muhammadu Buhari (rtd.) is at the venue. Presence of Sam Nda-Isaiah is also confirmed.

22:35 Governor Rochas Okorocha has finally reached the convention. The national Chairman of the APC, John Oyegun is also at the stadium.

22:22 Atiku Abubakar is the first of the APC presidential candidates to arrive!

21:59 General Muhammadu Buhari has not been seen at the venue of the convention yet.

21:57 Speaker Tambuwal is being invited to the podium.

21:48 Incredible! One Abdullahi Ibrahim lost his wallet. The presenter immediately made the announcement and invited the person backstage to pick it up.

21:37 Speaker Aminu Tambuwal is spotted at the venue of the APC presidential primaries!

21:34 The APC has prepared and now demonstrates on the big screens around the stadium a special documentary video. It shows successful projects and new achievements in the APC-governed states.

21:32 Post-accreditation continues, some music is on. 5-10 minute pause is expected.

21:14 Bisi Akande, Bola Tinubu, Ogbonnaya Onu, Tony Momoh take their seats at the VIP lounge.

21:10 The Governor of Kano State, Rabi'u Musa Kwankwaso, returns to Kano due to the deadly suicide bomb attack on a textile market. Kano Deputy Governor, Abdullahi Ganduja, confirmed this development, but emphasised that Kwankwaso was still in the Presidential Race.

20:59 The APC confirms secret ballot will be used to elect presidential candidate. Comedian Seyilaw is back, continues his rib-cracking jokes.

LIVE video from the event.

20:41 Governor Babatunde Fashola leads six of his colleagues round the venue to cheer the delegates.

20:39 Many delegates have not completed accreditation yet. It's in process. Security is very tight, but the participants and observers praise the APC in any case, mention that they organised everything as if they were the ruling party.

20:29 Tony Tetuila performs for the delegates. Lyrics like "Tinubu You don hit my car" admire the audience.

20:15 Governors Ahmed, Oshiomole, Amosun, Tanko Al-Makura, Rotimi Amaechi have taken their seats. They are joined by the Chairman of the National Convention Planning Committee, Dr Fayemi, and many more dignitaries.

20:04 Governor Babatunde Raji Fashola and wife join the delegates.

19:57 9ice is "making every one go gaga" at the convention.

19:56 Governor Wammako of Sokoto State arrives the venue.

19:54 Goveror Shettima of Borno State is also at the convention.

19:40 Delegates keep taking their seats at the designated places.

19:33 Comedian Seyilaw cracks jokes to entertain the delegates.

In a parallel development, at the Peoples Democratic Party convention in Abuja, President Goodluck Jonathan was declared the winner of the primaries.

Source: Legit.ng

Online view pixel