Famine alert: FG releases list of states, communities to experience drought in 2021

Famine alert: FG releases list of states, communities to experience drought in 2021

The federal government on Tuesday, February 2, warned that some states in the northern part of the country may experience a brief spell of drought between June and July 2021 due to weather change.

PAY ATTENTION: Join Legit.ng Telegram channel! Never miss important updates!

Speaking in Abuja at the 2021 Seasonal Climate Prediction (SCP), minister of aviation, Hadi Sirika, made the disclosure on the severe dry spells.

He urged farmers to embark on "soil-moisture conservation techniques" to reduce chances of crop failure during the period, Daily Sun reports.

Beware of famine! Full list of states, communities to experience drought in 2021
Hadi Sirika says some states will experience drought in 2021. Credit: @Hadisirika
Source: Twitter

While maintaining that climate change may bring big damage to farming and other ventures, and also cause famine, Sirika tasked the states to adhere to the forecast by the Nigerian Meteorological Agency (NIMET) in order to prevent bad consequences.

He gave the states as:

  1. Kebbi
  2. Sokoto
  3. Zamfara
  4. Katsina
  5. Yobe
  6. Borno

He gave the local government areas and communities to be affected as:

Read also

FG declares 5 states, 22 local govt areas COVID-19 high-risk

  1. Shinkafi
  2. Birnin Magaji
  3. Maradun
  4. Zurmi Zamfara
  5. Kaita
  6. Mashi
  7. Mai’Adua
  8. Katsina
  9. Dutsi
  10. Daura
  11. Baure
  12. Zango
  13. Katsina
  14. Gwiwa
  15. Arewa Dandi
  16. Birnin Kebbi
  17. Argungu,
  18. Augie Kebbi
  19. Illela
  20. Gada
  21. Tangaza
  22. Gudu
  23. Sabon Birni
  24. Sokoto
  25. Yankwashi
  26. Gumel
  27. Birniwa
  28. Sule-Tankarkar,
  29. Guri
  30. Kiri Kasama
  31. Jigawa
  32. Machina
  33. Nguru
  34. Yusufari
  35. Yunusari
  36. Karasuwa
  37. Barde
  38. Jakusko
  39. Geidam
  40. Yobe and Abadam
  41. Mobbar
  42. Kukawa
  43. Guzamala
  44. Gubio
  45. Nganzai
  46. Monguno Borno state

PAY ATTENTION: Install our latest app for Android, read best news on Nigeria’s #1 news app

Meanwhile, with coronavirus taking a dangerous curve on the country, the presidential task force on Monday, February 1, announced the list of five states and 22 local government areas in Nigeria with a large spread of the COVID-19 infection.

Addressing pressmen during a media briefing in Abuja, the national coordinator of the PTF, Dr Sani Aliyu, warned Nigerians against travelling to the affected states.

According to him, the high-burdened states and LGAs contribute to 95% of the daily infection. He gave the states, as sighted by Legit.ng as Yobe, Jigawa, Zamfara, Kebbi and Kogi.

“These local government areas which are mostly in the cities or the state capitals contribute over 95 per cent of the epidemic, particularly new cases in the country."

Source: Legit.ng

Online view pixel