FG declares 5 states, 22 local govt areas COVID-19 high-risk

FG declares 5 states, 22 local govt areas COVID-19 high-risk

With coronavirus taking a dangerous curve on the country, the presidential task force on Monday, February 1, announced the list of five states and 22 local government areas in Nigeria with a large spread of the COVID-19 infection.

PAY ATTENTION: Join Legit.ng Telegram channel! Never miss important updates!

Addressing pressmen during a media briefing in Abuja, the national coordinator of the PTF, Dr Sani Aliyu, warned Nigerians against travelling to the affected states.

According to him, the high-burdened states and LGAs contribute to 95% of the daily infection.

He gave the states, as sighted by Legit.ng as:

1. Yobe

2. Jigawa

3. Zamfara

4. Kebbi

5. Kogi

Beware! Full list of 5 states, 22 local govt areas FG declares COVID-19 high-risk
FG on Monday announced 5 states and 22 local govt areas that are COVID-19 high-risk. Credit: PTF on COVID-19
Source: UGC

Aliyu gave the name of the high-risk local government areas as:

  • Nkanu-West (Enugu)
  • Abuja Municipal Area Council (FCT)
  • Gwagwalada (FCT)
  • Gombe (Gombe state)
  • Chikun (Kaduna-North)
  • Kaduna South (Kaduna)
  • Nassarawa (Nasarawa state)
  • Kano (Kano state)
  • Katsina (Katsina state)
  • Ilorin-South (Ilorin-West)
  • Eti-Osa (Ikeja, Lagos)
  • Kosofe (Lagos Mainland)
  • Keffi
  • Lafia (Nasarawa)
  • Ibadan-North (Oyo)
  • Jos-North (plateau
  • Jos-South (Plateau)
  • Port-Harcourt (Rivers)
  • Wamako (Sokoto).

Read also

Sunday Igboho: Prominent northern leader reveals why Tinubu, Amaechi, others remain silent

Aliyu said:

“These local government areas which are mostly in the cities or the state capitals contribute over 95 per cent of the epidemic, particularly new cases in the country.
“In addition to this, we have states where data are not coming forth. If you don’t test, your data will not be analysed. If your data is not analysed, we won’t know the level of the epidemic in your state."

PAY ATTENTION: Install our latest app for Android, read best news on Nigeria’s #1 news app

It would be recalled that last year, officials of the National Center for Disease Control (NCDC) sent to ascertain the COVID-19 status of Kogi left the state after Governor Bello insisted they would be isolated and subjected to a COVID-19 test.

The officials of the NCDC had in a meeting with Governor Bello said they were sent to Kogi to assist the state in responding to the challenges posed by the pandemic.

Responding, Governor Bello said the state has resolved to comply with the protocols of the NCDC by putting the officials in quarantine for 14 days and take their samples to ensure they are COVID-19 free.

Source: Legit

Online view pixel