President Buhari appoints 11 judges for Abuja High Court

President Buhari appoints 11 judges for Abuja High Court

The Nigerian president, Muhammadu Buhari has appointed 11 judges for the Federal Capital Territory High Court.

PAY ATTENTION: Click “See First” under the “Following” tab to see News on your Facebook News Feed!

President Buhari has sent the names of the judges to the Senate for confirmation according to a letter which was reportedly read out by the Senate president, Ahmad Lawan, at the start of the plenary on Tuesday, July 7, Premium Times reported.

Buhari appoints 11 judges for Nigerian court (see names)
Buhari has asked the Senate to confirm the appointments of the judges. Photo Credit: The Sun
Source: UGC

According to the Premium Times, the newly appointed judges include:

1. Edward Okpe (Benue)

2. B. Abubakar (Borno)

3. M. Francis (Delta)

4. Jude Nwabueze (Delta)

5. Josephine Enobi (Edo)

5. Christopher Opeyemi (Ekiti)

7. Mohammed Idris (Kano)

8. Hassan Maryam Aliyu (Kebbi)

9. Fasola Akeem Adebowale (Lagos)

10. Hamza Muazu (Niger)

11. Abubakar Useni Musa (Adamawa)

The president in another letter sought the confirmation of the re-appointment of Umar Danbatta as executive vice-chairman of the Nigerian Communications Commission (NCC) for a second term of five years.

Read also

President Buhari nominates Okonjo-Iweala for top position

Buhari has also appointed three officials as members of the Code of Conduct Bureau (CCB).

In another news report, the appointments of 12 non-career ambassadors have been renewed by Buhari.

A presidential spokesperson, Femi Adesina, in a statement on Thursday, July 2, said the appointments were made following recent complaints that some states were not captured in the earlier appointment of 41 non-career ambassadors.

Adesina said the appointments of 12 non-career ambassadors were renewed based on performance evaluations.

He said the president will still decide if they will remain in their current postings.

Meanwhile, a group, Civil Society Groups for Good Governance (CSGGG) has condemned the recent controversy in the Nigeria Social Insurance Trust Fund (NSITF), accusing the minister of labour and employment, Dr Chris Ngige of circumventing President Buhari.

On Thursday, July 2, media reports suggested Buhari had approved the indefinite suspension of the managing director/chief executive of the NSITF, Adebayo Somefun.

Read also

Discover facts about Buhari ministers and their portfolio

The report also said the president approved the suspension of four directors of the agency - Jasper Ikedi Azuatalam, Olukemi Nelson and Alhaji Tijani Darazo Sulaiman.

In a swift rebuttal, the management of NSITF in a statement said that President Buhari did not suspend any management staff and accused Ngige of overreaching himself.

Briefing journalists on Saturday, July 4 in Abuja, the convener of CSGGG, Comrade Ogakwu Dominic, described the minister's action as an unpatriotic act.

PAY ATTENTION: Install our latest app for Android, read best news on Nigeria’s #1 news app

5 years after, Nigerians speak about Buhari's administration | Legit TV

Source: Legit Nigeria

Online view pixel