Rivers Crisis: Full List of 8 Resolutions Reached as Tinubu Settles Wike’s Rift with Fubara

Rivers Crisis: Full List of 8 Resolutions Reached as Tinubu Settles Wike’s Rift with Fubara

  • President Bola Tinubu, FCT Minister Nyesom Wike, and Governor Siminalayi Fubara of Rivers state have made eight peaceful resolutions
  • The president was able to secure the signature of Governor Fubara, who agreed to drop all cases instituted against Wike's camp
  • President Tinubu reached an agreement between the minister and the governor to return peace to the state

Legit.ng journalist Bada Yusuf is an accomplished politics and current affairs editor, boasting over seven years of experience in journalism and writing.

President Bola Tinubu held a stakeholder meeting with Governor Siminalayi Fubara of Rivers, his predecessor and minister of the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) Nyesom Wike, former governor Peter Odili and other prominent figures and ended with eight far-reaching resolutions.

According to the details shared by the office of the special adviser to the president on social media, the governor agreed to withdraw all court cases instituted against members of the state assembly who defected from the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) to the All Progressives Congress (APC).

Read also

PDP rejects Tinubu's 8-point resolution on Rivers crisis as Wike-Fubara rift deepens

Nyesom Wike/Siminalayi Fubara/Bola Ahmed Tinubu/Peter Odili/APC/PDP/Rivers state
Full list of resolutions reached by Wike, Fubara, Tinubu, and Odili reached peace deal Photo Credit: Nyesom Wike, Bola Ahmed Tinubu, Siminalayi Fubara
Source: Twitter

On the other hand, the state house of assembly also agreed to stop all impeachment proceedings instituted against Governor Fubara.

PAY ATTENTION: Сheck out news that is picked exactly for YOU ➡️ find the “Recommended for you” block on the home page and enjoy!

Part of the resolution was the recognition of the leadership of the state house of assembly led by Martin Amaewhule and 27 other lawmakers who defected to the APC from the PDP and are purely the camp of Wike.

Below is the full list of the eight agreements:

Withdrawal of court cases

Recall that on Monday, December 11, 27 of the lawmakers loyal to the FCT minister Nyesom Wike dumped the PDP for the APC, a development that fueled the state's crisis.

Governor Fubara and the factional chairman of the house, Edison Ehie, instituted legal action against them when Ehie declared their seats vacant.

Read also

Shehu Sani explains Tinubu’s peace deal: “He moved knife from Fubara’s neck to his back”

Stopping impeachment proceedings

Another critical resolution was the agreement to stop the impeachment proceedings the Amaewhule-led faction initiated against Governor Fubara in late October.

The house served impeachment notice on the governor in October, a situation that brought a silent war between Fubara and Wike to the centre stage in the media.

Recognition of Martin Amaewhule-led faction in Rivers assembly

The peace deal brokered by President Tinubu also recognised the leadership of the 27 members of the Rivers state house of assembly as the authentic lawmaking body in the state.

The house split into factions since the Amaewhule-led leadership served the governor an impeachment notice.

Remuneration and benefits of assembly

The peace deal also agreed that the remuneration and benefits of the Rivers state house of assembly members and staff would be reinstated immediately.

Governor Fubara-led executive will henceforth no longer interfere with the funding of the assembly.

Read also

Wike vs Fubara: Full list of politicians who signed peace deal to end Rivers crisis

Lawmakers sitting

The lawmakers will henceforth choose where to have their sittings without interference or hindrance from the executive.

The independence of the legislature practically reinstated the structure Wike clamoured for.

Re-presentation of 2024 budget

Governor Fubara also agreed to re-present the over N80 billion 2024 budget to the state assembly with the defected members in attendance.

Fubara had presented the budget to four lawmakers loyal to him at the state house and signed it the following day.

Reappointing resigned commissioners

The governor will also be resending the names of the commissioners who have resigned to the state house of assembly for re-appointment.

After the governor signed the appropriation bill 24 hours after its presentation to four lawmakers loyal to him, no less than nine of the 18 commissioners resigned, citing personal reasons.

Local government administration return

The peace accord by Wike, Fubara, and Tinubu declared null and void, the dissolution of local government administration.

Read also

BREAKING: Peace at Last as Tinubu, Wike, Fubara Agree on 8 Deals

Thus, it was agreed that Rivers state would not have a caretake committee for local government.

See the tweet here:

Wike vs Fubara: Two reps lead solidarity march

Legit.ng earlier reported that Fubara appeared more assertive in his fight against his predecessor, Nyesom Wike.

Two lawmakers in the House of Representatives, Awaji-Inombek Abiante and Boma Goodhead, led the Ijaw Youths Council to support the governor.

This came after eight members of Fubara's cabinet resigned their appointments, citing personal reasons.

Source: Legit.ng

Bada Yusuf avatar

Bada Yusuf (Politics and Current Affairs Editor) Yusuf Amoo Bada is an accomplished politics and current affairs editor, boasting over 7 years of experience in journalism and writing. He is a graduate of OAU, and holds Diploma in Mass Comm. and BA in Literature in English. He has obtained certificates in Leadership and received the "Certificate for Breakthrough of the Year 2022" in recognition of his great performance during his first year at Legit.ng. Worked as Editor with OperaNews. Contact: bada.yusuf.amoo@corp.legit.ng or call 08161717844

Online view pixel