Lists of 11 Powerful Ex-Governors Whose Corruption Cases Have Been Swept Under Carpet

Lists of 11 Powerful Ex-Governors Whose Corruption Cases Have Been Swept Under Carpet

  • No less than 11 former governors' corruption cases with the EFCC have been stalled despite their media attention
  • Some of the ex-governors are either holding other elective positions or contesting in the 2023 elections
  • Top on the list is the presidential candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Bola Tinubu and his counterpart in the New Nigerian Peoples Party (NNPP), Rabiu Kwankwaso

Since the establishment of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC), the commission had run-ins with many state governors over alleged misappropriation of state funds.

Premium Times reported that with the immunity conferred on these governors by the Nigerian constitutions, the anti-graft agency will have to wait for any executive under investigation to leave office before they can swing into action.

APC/PDP/Bola Tinubu/Rabiu Kwankwaso/Bukola Saraki
Governors who have their court cases swept under the carpet Photo Credit: Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu/ Bukola Saraki
Source: Facebook

Okorocha, Obiano are recent ex-governors whose corruption cases have been stalled

Read also

List of Nigerian politicians who own notable newspapers, TV stations

The most recent among these cases is the arrests of former governors of Anambra and Imo, Willie Obiano and Rochas Okorocha.

PAY ATTENTION: Subscribe to Digital Talk newsletter to receive must-know business stories and succeed BIG!

However, despite the media trial of these arrests, it has always been getting poor trials, and convictions have been rare, even in remarkable cases.

It is important to note that many of the accused former governors in these corruption cases still hold or seek elections in public offices.

Last year, EFCC chairman Abdulrasheed Bawa, no less than 978 corrupt Nigerians were convicted between January and September 2021, adding that the anti-graft agency was winning the corruption war.

Below is the list of the former governors and their states:

  1. Abdulaziz Yari – Zamfara
  2. Theodore Orji – Abia
  3. Tanko Al-Makura – Nasarawa
  4. Godswill Akpabio – Akwa Ibom
  5. Abdulfatah Ahmed – Kwara
  6. Aliyu Wamakko – Sokoto
  7. Ali Modu Sheriff – Borno
  8. Rabiu Kwankwaso – Kano
  9. Willie Obiano – Anambra
  10. Bukola Saraki – Kwara
  11. Bola Tinubu – Lagos

Read also

2023: Tinubu's fate in north sealed after APC governor meets IBB, Abdulsalami

Full list of powerful governors who have dethroned traditional rulers in their states earlier reported that state governors' dethronement of traditional rulers is gaining more prominence in the Nigerian public space.

When talking about governors who have impeached monarchs in their states, the removal of the former Emir of Kano and ex-governor of the CBN, Lamido Sanusi, will always come to mind.

However, Sanusi was not the first, and nor was he the last traditional ruler that has been removed by a Nigerian governor since the return of democracy in 1999.


Online view pixel