FG Strikes Back, To Restrict Airlines From UK, Saudi Arabia in Response to Omicron Travel Ban

FG Strikes Back, To Restrict Airlines From UK, Saudi Arabia in Response to Omicron Travel Ban

  • The Nigerian government is set to retaliate the recent ban on Nigeria by some top countries over Omicron strain of Covid-19
  • Specifically, the federal government is targeting airlines from Canada, United Kingdom, and Saudi Arabia
  • According to reports, the airlines will now be restricted from Nigerian airspace from Tuesday, December 14

In what will scatter the plans of many Nigerians, the federal government is ready to go against some top countries over the travel ban imposed on Nigeria over the Omicron Covid-19 virus strain.

As a result of this, the FG says it will restrict airlines coming from Canada, United Kingdom, and Saudi Arabia into Nigeria from Tuesday, December 14.

Hadi Sirika, minister of aviation, who disclosed this on Sunday in Lagos, explained that it was to reciprocate the travel ban placed on Nigeria over the new COVID-19 variant, Omicron.

FG to restrict airlines from UK, Saudi Arabia in response to Omicron travel ban
The Nigerian government is set to retaliate the recent ban on Nigeria by some top countries over Omicron strain of Covid-19. Photo: Femi Adesina
Source: Facebook

Sirika said President Muhammadu Buhari’s administration would also place the United Kingdom, Canada, and Saudi Arabia on a red list over the outbreak and spread of the Omicron variant.

PAY ATTENTION: Install our latest app for Android, read best news on Nigeria’s #1 news app

The UK had announced that non-UK and non-Irish citizens travelling in from Nigeria will not be allowed entry into the country following the cases of the Omicron COVID-19 variant reported in Nigeria.

Saudi Arabia had also imposed a temporary ban on flights from Nigeria over the increasing number of omicron variant cases.

On its part, Canada also banned travels from Nigeria and nine other African countries over omicron variant concerns.

According to NAN, the minister noted that if those countries placed Nigeria on a red list, they do not have the moral right to have their airlines fly into Nigeria on commercial operations.

He said:

“There is also the case of Saudi Arabia that put Nigeria on the ban list. On Sunday, I participated in a meeting with the COVID-19 task force,” NAN quoted the minister as saying.
“We have given our input that it is not acceptable by us, and we recommended that those Canada, the UK, Saudi Arabia, and Argentina also be put on the red list.
“As they did to us if they do not allow our citizens into their countries; who are they coming, as airlines, to pick from our country?
“They are not supposed to come in. I am very sure in the next three days; Monday or Tuesday, all those countries will be put on the red list of COVID-19.”

He stressed that airlines of the affected countries remained banned and the countries placed on Nigeria’s red list.

Sirika apologised to Nigerians intending to travel to those countries but said the Nigerian government’s decision was in the interest of the country.

Omicron variant: Doctors' association gives advice to Nigerian government over travel ban

In another report, following growing concerns on the spread of the newly discovered COVID-19 Omicron variant, the Nigerian Medical Association (NMA) on Thursday, December 9, called on the Nigerian government to impose a travel ban on all the countries posing risks of spread of the Omicron variant of COVID-19.

The president of the NMA, Innocent Ujah, during a press conference in Abuja said government at all levels should be proactive in curbing the spread of the disease.

Ujah also said that the country should institute restrictions against nations that are a high risk to Nigeria's effort to curtail the disease spread.

FG reacts to the British travel ban over Omicron, alleges most infected travellers from the UK

Also, on Sunday, December 5, the federal government ruled out the possibility of restricting foreign travellers from visiting Nigeria despite travel bans on the country by Canada, the United Kingdom, Indonesia, Singapore and Hong Kong.

This was just as the government stated that most of the in-bound passengers that tested positive for COVID-19 were from the UK.

The minister of health, Osagie Ehanire, made this disclosure during an interview on Sunday, December 5.

Source: Legit.ng

Online view pixel