Nigeria's Fate Decided as US Releases Full List of Nations Violating Religious Freedom

Nigeria's Fate Decided as US Releases Full List of Nations Violating Religious Freedom

The President Joe Biden-led government in the United States (US) on Wednesday, November 17, restated its full support for religious tolerance as it fights against the violation of human rights to worship across the world.

This commitment on the part of the US government was made known by its secretary of state, Antony Blinken, who is scheduled to visit Nigeria soon, Punch reports.

President Muhammadu Buhari
The is good news to the Buhari-led government (Photo: Aso Rock Villa)
Source: Facebook

Blinken in his statement said that Nigeria has been removed from the list of nations infamous for violating the religious freedom of citizens and foreigners.

Part of the US' secretary of state statement read:

“The United States will not waiver in its commitment to advocate for freedom of religion or belief for all and in every country. In far too many places around the world, we continue to see governments harass, arrest, threaten, jail, and kill individuals simply for seeking to live their lives in accordance with their beliefs.

Read also

Insecurity: Go after sponsors of killers, stop accusing us, Northeast Youths tell Buhari

PAY ATTENTION: Join Telegram channel! Never miss important updates!

“This administration is committed to supporting every individual’s right to freedom of religion or belief, including by confronting and combating violators and abusers of this human right."

Below is the full list of countries the US has flagged as being guilty of what it called systematic, ongoing, and egregious violations of religious freedom:

  1. Burma
  2. China
  3. Eritrea
  4. Iran
  5. Democratic People's Republic of Korea
  6. Pakistan
  7. Russia
  8. Saudi Arabia
  9. Tajikistan
  10. Turkmenistan
  11. Algeria
  12. Comoros
  13. Cuba
  14. Nicaragua

Group says Trump's administration worsened diplomatic relations between US, Africa

Meanwhile, a group, All Lives Matter in Nigeria (ALMN) on Sunday, January 24, called on the Nigerian government and other African nations to sanction the 45th president of the US of America, Donald Trump.

The group in a statement signed by its director of public enlightenment, Bonaventure Maduka, and seen by said the Trump's administration worsened diplomatic relations between the US and the African continent.

Read also

Be careful of your next choice, Wike tells Nigerians, says APC has set Nigeria 20 years backwards

Maduka said a sanction to the past officials would help send a strong message to other world leaders insincere in their dealings on issues that affect Africa.

The group's call followed a recent sanction slapped on 28 former administration officers of Donald Trump including his secretary of state, Mike Pompeo, by China on Wednesday.


Online view pixel