Lagos APC Inaugurates Peace, Reconciliation Committees As Balogun Begs Aggrieved Members

Lagos APC Inaugurates Peace, Reconciliation Committees As Balogun Begs Aggrieved Members

  • The peace and reconciliation committees have been inaugurated by the Lagos state chapter of the All Progressives Congress (APC)
  • Some members of the party were aggrieved over the outcome of the primaries recently conducted in all LGAs and LCDAs across the state
  • Tunde Balogun, the state party chairman, said that the committees are saddled with the responsibility of uniting the members

PAY ATTENTION: Join Telegram channel! Never miss important updates!

Ikeja, Lagos - The ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) on Friday, July 2, inaugurated peace and reconciliation committees to reconcile aggrieved members of the party and ensure victory at the polls. reports that in his address, the state chairman, Hon. Tunde Balogun expressed his delight at the quality of the membership of the committee with a wide range of experience in years of party administration and government.

Lagos APC has said that it would win the forthcoming election in the state.
Lagos APC has inaugurated peace, reconciliation committees ahead of July local government election. Credit: Seye Oladejo.
Source: Facebook

He admonished them to painstakingly examined the various emerging issues with a view of making workable recommendations to engender lasting peace and cohesion towards the forthcoming elections.

Read also

List, photos of APC governors currently in Zamfara for Matawalle's planned defection

The terms of reference of the committee, among others, include the identification of the causes of dissension, chaos and acrimony in the aftermath of the local government primary elections.

The committee is to session with aggrieved aspirants, members and leaders in their areas of jurisdiction in order to appeal, appease and advise them.

Balogun urged the committee to consider areas of conflict from all interested parties in order to find amicable and workable solutions and make informed recommendations to the party.

To ensure lasting peace to guarantee cohesion towards a seamless campaign and victory at the coming polls.

The committee which is split into four for ease of operations and to meet the deadline for the submission of its reports has for Lagos West Senatorial District 1, a former deputy governor of the state, Prince Abiodun Ogunleye as chairman.

The state deputy chairman, Chief Sunny Ajose is to serve as the deputy chairman. Other members are Lekan Ogunbanwo, Sunny Adeeko, Segun Agbaje, Hon. Wale Raji, Tunde Isiaq and Bayo Erikitola.

Read also

List of 18 newly sworn-in appeal court justices and the regions they came from

The committee is to sit at Ikeja local government.

Lagos West Senatorial District 2 has Senator Anthony Adefuye as chairman and Asipa Kaoli Olusanya as his deputy. Members are Mr. Kolade Alabi, Hon. Jimi Benson, Mr. Orekoya, Hon. Wole Diya and Chief Wale Mogaji.

The committee is to sit at Ojo local government.

Lagos East Senatorial District has Prince Tajudeen Olusi as chairman and Hon. Hakeem Bamgbala as the deputy. The members are Hon. Wahab Alawiye-King, Chief Abayomi Daramola, Ms. Omolara Vaughan, Jude Adams, Hon. Ademola Shabi and Hon. Wale Oshun.

They are to sit at Bariga local government.

The Lagos Central Senatorial District has Prince Rabiu Oluwa as chairman and Chief Ologunde as deputy.

The members are Hon. Kamal Bayewu, Hon. Moshood Salvador, Hon. Cornelius Ojelabi, Hon. Hodewu Suru Avoseh, Mr. Dotun Adegbola and Sunday Kappo .

The committee will sit at the city hall.

Read also

Breaking: Drama as new Christian judge takes oath in Allah's name, CJN reacts

Balogun also noted that all Lagos state APC caretaker committee members are automatic members of the committee in their respective Senatorial Districts.

The committee is expected to submit its report on July, 12.

The state party spokesman, Seye Oladejo, had on Wednesday, June 30, said the committees would engender peace and unity in order to ensure victory for the party at the polls.

PAY ATTENTION: Install our latest app for Android, read the best news on Nigeria’s #1 news app

Lagos APC members protest imposition of candidate

Meanwhile, had previously reported that members of the APC in Lagos state outrightly rejected the alleged imposition of Abdulhameed Salawu as the chairmanship candidate of the party in the upcoming local government election.

It was reported that Salawu popularly known as Dullar is the incumbent chairman of the Somolu local government area.

The party members on Thursday, June 24, marched peacefully to the Lagos state House of Assembly in protest against the imposition.


Online view pixel