List: 18 Judges Approved for Appointment into Court of Appeal

List: 18 Judges Approved for Appointment into Court of Appeal

The appointment of 18 new justices for the Court of Appeal has been approved by President Muhammadu Buhari.

PAY ATTENTION: Join Telegram channel! Never miss important updates! gathered that this is sequel to the recommendation the Chief Justice of Nigeria and chairman of the National Judicial Council (NJC) Justice Ibrahim Muhammad gave to the Nigerian leader back in March.

List: Buhari approves appointment of 18 Appeal Court justices
President Buhari has approved the appointment of 18 new justices for the appeal court. Photo credit: @BashirAhmaad
Source: Twitter

The Cable reports that Prof. Ibrahim Gambari, the chief of staff to the president, conveyed Buhari's approval in a letter to the CJN.

Below is the list of judges approved for the Court of Appeal, according to The Punch:

1. Bature Isah Gafai

.2. Muhammad Ibrahim Sirajo

3. Waziri Abdul-Azeez

4. Yusuf Alhaji Bashir

5. Usman A. Musale

6. Jauro Ibrahim Wakili

7. Abba Bello Mohammed

8. Mohammed Danjuma

9. Danlami Zama Senchi

10. Mohammed Lawal Abubakar

11. Hassan Muslim Sule

Read also

Prominent Nigerians attend Yinka Odumakin's lying-in-state ceremony

12. Amadi Kenneth Ikechukwu

13. Peter Oyinkenimiemi Affen

14. Sybil Onyeji Nwaka Gbagi

15. Olasumbo Olanrewaju Goodluck

16. Banjoko Adebukunola Adeoti Ibironke

17. Olabode Abimbola Adegbehingbe

18. Bola Samuel Ademola

PAY ATTENTION: Install our latest app for Android, read the best news on Nigeria’s #1 news app

Meanwhile, reported that President Buhari requested that the Senate consider and approve Justice Salisu Garba for appointment as the acting chief judge of the Federal Capital Territory high court.

The Senate president, Ahmad Lawan, read Buhari’s letter of request on the floor during plenary on Tuesday, April 20.

Justice Tanko Muhammad, the Chief Justice of Nigeria (CJN), had in January 2021, swore in Justice Garba as acting CJ of FCT high court.

This was a sequel to the retirement of Justice Ishaq Bello as CJ of the FCT high court.

In another report, the reconciliation meeting between the federal government and members of the Judiciary Staff Union of Nigeria (JUSUN) suffered a setback on Tuesday, April 20.

Read also

Just in: Gbajabiamila, Tinubu, others get new APC appointment

The meeting failed to hold after the union staged a walkout from the venue for discussion.

The striking judiciary workers took the action after they had waited for over an hour at the conference room of the ministry of labour and employment.

Source: Legit

Online view pixel