Council Elections: Massive Victory as PDP Clears all Seats in Northern State

Council Elections: Massive Victory as PDP Clears all Seats in Northern State

- The PDP had a field day in the local government council poll in Sokoto on Saturday, March 27

- Candidates of the party were said to have won all the seats in the election

- Some of the results were announced by the head of the State Independent Electoral Commission, Alhaji Aliyu Suleiman

PAY ATTENTION: Join Telegram channel! Never miss important updates!

The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) which happens to be the ruling party in Sokoto recorded an all-around victory in the local government elections conducted on Saturday, March 27.

According to the State Independent Electoral Commission (SIEC), the PDP swept all the seats in the 23 local government councils, Daily Trust reports.

Alhaji Aliyu Suleiman, SIEC's chairman in the state, announced that PDP candidates won all the contested seats during the poll.

Council elections: Massive victory, comeback as PDP clears all seats in northern state
The polls were conducted by the state's independent electoral body (Photo: @SMOHSokoto)
Source: Twitter

A list of some of the ruling party's candidates and the number of votes they claimed in the areas are given below:

Read also

PDP’s Ebisike defeats Senator Uzor Kalu’s brother, wins Aba Reps bye-election

1. Abdulwahab Yahaya won 40,521 votes (Goronyo)

2. Alhaji Bello Wakili polled 38,731 votes (Gudu)

3. Alhaji Amimu Aya won 42,709 votes (Gwadabawa)

4. Aminu Salihu polled 33,652 votes (Illela)

5. Abdulkadir Dankadi claimed 42, 807 (Isa )

6. Lawali Danmarafa polled 24,219 votes (Kebbe)

7. Jafaru Hamza claimed 27,756 votes (Kware)

8. Yahaya Abdullahi Gandi got 28,894 votes (Rabah)

9. Aliyu Dantani Shagari polled 29,460 votes (Shagari)

10. Umaru Danyaro pulled 43,968 votes (Sabon Birni)

11. Bello Muhammad Gonki got 22,924votes (Silame)

12. Mustapha Shehu gathered 39,274 votes (Sokoto North)

13. Faruku Abdulrahaman Saidu got 39,187 votes (Sokoto South)

14. Nasiru Babata claimed 48,928 votes (Tambuwal LGA)

15. Isa Salihu Bashir took 31,154 votes (Tangaza)

16. Abubakar Salihu collected 20,534 (Tureta)

17. Bello Haliru Guiwa got 42,388 votes (Wamakko)

18. Abubakar Arzika polled 30,789 votes (Wurno)

19. Aliyu Abubakar claimed 27,173 votes (Yabo LGA)

Suleiman revealed that results for the respective councillors in the areas would be announced at their local government headquarters.

Read also

Reward for defection? Omisore, Bankole, Dogara get APC appointments

Vanguard reports that Suleiman described the elections as being hitch-free in all the areas.

He said:

“I certify that the election was conducted hitch-free and 10 political parties participated in the election.
“The candidates that won have the highest number of valid votes and satisfied the requirements of law."

Meanwhile, the All Progressives Congress (APC) Aba North/South senatorial bye-election turned really violent on Saturday, March 27, because of the invasion of thugs.

Apart from the chaos and roundness that characterised the poll following an explosion, one of the APC collation officers, Mike Ozoemena, is nowhere to be found.

PAY ATTENTION: Install our latest app for Android, read the best news on Nigeria’s #1 news app

The spokesperson of the APC in the state confirmed that Ozoemena had been kidnapped.

Source: Legit Newspaper

Online view pixel