Breaking: FG to publish another 100 names of defaulters for violating COVID-19 rules

Breaking: FG to publish another 100 names of defaulters for violating COVID-19 rules

- No fewer than 100 international travellers would face consequences after violating the COVID-19 protocols

- This was disclosed on Wednesday, February 3, by the Presidential Task Force (PTF) on COVID-19

- According to the PTF, a good number of travellers failed to do the compulsory COVID-19 test following their arrival in the country

PAY ATTENTION: Join Telegram channel! Never miss important updates!

The federal government has said that it would publish another list of 100 international travellers for flouting obligation to test seven days after arrival in Nigeria from overseas travel.

Dr. Mukhtar Muhammad, the national incident manager, Presidential Task Force (PTF) on COVID-19, made this known on Wednesday, February 3.

According to the information which was also shared on the task forces' Twitter page and sighted by stressed that the list will be published this week.

Breaking: FG to publish another 100 names of defaulters for disobeying COVID-19 rules
The Presidential Task Force (PTF) on COVID-19 said that it would publish another batch of names for violating protocols. Photo credit: @DigiCommsNG
Source: Twitter

He explained that defaulting travellers are those who refused to pay for testing or undertake the test.

Read also

COVID-19: Take vaccine or die, FG warns Nigerians

It would be recalled that a six-month travel ban was slammed on 100 passengers who had failed to undergo the compulsory COVID-19 test after their return to Nigeria.

The post-arrival test is expected to be done at the end of the mandatory 7-day self-isolation/quarantine.

The PTF on COVID-19 released a list containing the defaulters' passport numbers, though their names were not mentioned.

The task force said the affected persons were contacted and it was confirmed that they failed to do the test.

FG releases guidelines for travellers

Earlier, reported that the federal government released a protocol for travellers arriving into Nigeria.

The provisional quarantine protocol signed by the chairman of the COVID-19 Presidential Task Force (PTF), Boss Mustapha was released on Sunday, January 10.

According to the Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF), the guidelines took effect from Monday, January 11.

Read also

Fear in NYSC camps as senior official dies of COVID-19

PAY ATTENTION: Install our latest app for Android, read best news on Nigeria’s #1 news app

Travellers from UK must undergo test at airports, says FG

In a related development, the federal government, through the PTF for COVID-19, has imposed new safety measures on persons entering the country.

The PTF on its Facebook page announced that all travellers from the United Kingdom (UK) and South Africa must undergo COVID-19 tests and must be certified as free from the virus.


Online view pixel