Year in Review: 5 biggest political losers in 2020

Year in Review: 5 biggest political losers in 2020

"In life you win some and you lose some but life goes on," those were the consolatory words from Adams Oshiomhole when his political godson, Godwin Obaseki, dealt him a punchy political blow in the September 19 governorship election in Edo state.

PAY ATTENTION: Click “See First” under the “Following” tab to see News on your Facebook News Feed!

As the year 2020 winds down, examines some prominent politicians in the country who lost out in the political schemings and calculations.

2020 in Review: Biggest political losers
Year in Review: Biggest political losers in 2020. Photo credits: @AAjayiAgboola, @PastorIzeIyamu, @proud9ja_, @BOGbadamosi, @A_Oshiomhole
Source: Twitter

1. Adams Oshiomhole

The former chairman of the All Progressives Congress (APC) tops the list.

Apart from losing his seat as the chairman of the ruling party, Oshiomole also failed in his attempt to unseat his erstwhile political protege, Obaseki, as the governor of Edo state.

2. Pastor Osagie Ize-Iyamu

Ize-Iyamu is a founding member of the APC who later defected to the PDP and contested Edo state governorship election on the party's platform in 2016.

Read also

2023: Ladoja visits Tinubu in Bourdillon amid ex-Lagos gov's presidential ambition

He was defeated by Obaseki who was then the candidate of the APC.

Fast forward to 2020, Ize-Iyamu, following some political intrigues, emerged the governorship candidate of the APC while Obaseki became the candidate of the PDP.

Sadly, the powerful influence of Oshimhole could not save Ize-Iyamu from another defeat!

3. Agboola Ajayi

Within the space of two months, Ajayi, the deputy governor of Ondo state left the APC for the PDP and finally to the Zenith Labour Party (ZLP).

The Ondo deputy governor appeared desperate in his bid to unseat his principal, Rotimi Akeredolu, and become the next governor of the state in the October 10 governorship election.

After failing to get the PDP ticket, he ran to the ZLP where he eventually became the party's flagbearer. However, he lost the election.

4. Babatunde Gbadamosi

When he appeared at the 2019 governorship debate in Lagos as the candidate of the Action Democratic Party(ADP), many people commended his brilliance and eloquence. Sadly, Gbadamosi couldn't translate the success at the debate to political victory.

Read also

Year in Review: 5 prominent politicians who dumped their former parties for new ones in 2020

He lost out to the APC's Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu.

Meanwhile, Gbadamosi who had left the PDP to pursue his governorship ambition in the ADP eventually returned to the lead opposition party.

Having lost out in the governorship battle, he contested the Lagos East senatorial seat by-election conducted on Saturday, December 5. Sadly, he lost again, to the APC.

PAY ATTENTION: Install our latest app for Android, read the best news on Nigeria’s #1 news app

5. Hillard Eta

From wanting to be at the APC's helm of leadership, Eta has ended up being expelled from the ruling party. He was expelled by the National Executive Committee (NEC).

With all his political schemings, including declaring himself the APC acting national chairman following the court ruling which upheld Oshimhole's suspension, Eta is now a former member of the party, unless the court upturns the decision of the NEC.

Read also

Edo election: Tribunal hears petitions against Obaseki’s victory

Edo election: Obaseki's win will send Oshiomhole into political oblivion | Legit TV

Source: Legit

Online view pixel