Ondo election: PDP's Jegede wins Akure by a wide margin

Ondo election: PDP's Jegede wins Akure by a wide margin

- PDP governorship candidate, Jegede, defeated his rivals in Akure South and Akure North LGAs

- In Akure South, the PDP candidate polled 47,627 votes to defeat Akeredolu who got 17, 277

- Similarly, Jegede polled 12,263 to defeat the APC governorship candidate who secured 9,546 votes in Akure North

PAY ATTENTION: Win a prize of N115,000, N75,000 or N38,000: participate in Big Naija Independence contest by Legit.ng

Eyitayo Jegede, the governorship candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) candidate in the Ondo state governorship election, has secured a landslide victory in two local government areas: Akure South and Akure North.

The results were announced by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) in the early hours of Sunday, October 11.

In Akure South, Jegede polled 47,627 votes to defeat the All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate, Rotimi Akeredolu, who secured 17, 277 votes.

Ondo election: PDP's Jegede wins Akure by a wide margin
Ondo election: PDP's Jegede wins Akure by a wide margin. Photo source: Business Day
Source: UGC

The candidate of the Zenith Labor Party (ZLP), Agboola Ajayi, garnered 3,623 votes in the local government.

In Akure North, Jegede polled 12,263 to defeat Akeredolu who secured 9,546 votes and Ajayi who got 1,046 votes.

The breakdown of the figures shows that Jegede defeated his closet contender with 33,067 votes in Akure: 30,350 in the South and 2,717 in the North.

The two LGAs are believed to be a stronghold of the PDP governorship candidate.

Jegede hails from Ondo Central Senatorial District consisting Akure South, Akure North, Ifedore, Idanre, Ondo West, and Ondo East LGAs.

PAY ATTENTION: Install our latest app for Android, read best news on Nigeria’s #1 news app

Earlier, Legit.ng reported Governor Akeredolu of the APC won in nine local government areas out of the 12 LGAs while the candidate while Jegede won the remaining three.

Legit.ng notes that the candidate of the ZLP, Ajayi, has not won in any of the local government areas announced so far.

Results are being collated from 3,009 polling units in the 203 wards of the 18 local government areas in the southwest state.

Catch up with the live updates of the results announcement here.

I will conduct free and fair primaries in Ondo - Yahaya Bello | Legit TV

Source: Legit.ng

Online view pixel