Nobel Prize in Medicine awarded to 3 joint winners for discovering hepatitis C

Nobel Prize in Medicine awarded to 3 joint winners for discovering hepatitis C

- The 2020 Nobel Prize for Medicine has been awarded to three virologists who will all share the over $1.07m (N409,810,000) award money

- Harvey J. Alter, Charles M Rice, and Michael Houghton were recognised for discovering the hepatitis C virus

- On hearing the news of their winning, the recipients could not contain their joy

PAY ATTENTION: Win a prize of N115,000, N75000 or N38000: participate in Big Naija Independence contest by

The popular Nobel Prize in Medicine for 2020 edition has been awarded to Harvey J Alter, Charles M Rice, and Michael Houghton.

It should be noted that the award gives the recipients an opportunity to belong to one of the most prestigious groups of the world.

The announcement was made on Monday, October 5, as the Nobel Assembly said that the scientists contributed greatly to "the identification of novel virus” called hepatitis, CNN reports.

The 2020 Nobel Prize was given at Sweden’s Karolinska Institute on Monday, October 5. Another thing worthy of note is that an estimated number of 71 million people around the world have the disease.

According to the World Health Organisation, a big percentage of that figure will have issues such as cirrhosis or liver cancer.

Thomas Perlmann, the Nobel’s secretary, said that he had to try calling the winners several times before he was able to reach two of them.

A collage of the virologists.
Photo source: Nature
A collage of the virologists. Photo source: Nature
Source: UGC

He said when they, however, picked up their phones, they were super excited about the news.

Alter discovered that the virus could be transferred to chimpanzees. Houghton identified the C sequence of the disease while Rice showed that the hepatitis C virus alone could cause hepatitis.

The three-joint winners will share about $1.07 million (N409,810,000) prize money. After Alfred Nobel, the prize founder created a fund to give a bigger part of fortune to humanity, the platform has been rewarding outstanding achievement in Literature, Physics, Chemistry, Physiology or Medicine, and Economic Sciences.

PAY ATTENTION: Download our mobile app to enjoy the latest news update

Meanwhile, earlier reported that the 2019 Nobel Peace Prize was on Friday, October 11, awarded to Abiy Ahmed, Ethiopia's prime minister, as he was recognised for making a peace deal with the country’s historical enemy, Eritrea.

The minister’s peace move ended the country’s two decades enmity with the country as an Ethiopian associate professor of law, Awo Allo, said the prime minister deserved the honour.

In awarding the prize, the chair of the Norwegian Nobel Committee, Berit Reiss-Andersen, during a press conference in Oslo, said Ahmed has been given to the promotion of “reconciliation, solidarity, and social justice." wins most people friendly online platform award | Legit TV


Online view pixel