President Buhari swears in 4 new permanent secretaries

President Buhari swears in 4 new permanent secretaries

- The FEC meeting on Wednesday, September 30, was actually remarkable

- During the meeting, President Muhammadu Buhari swore in four new permanent secretaries

- The new appointees completed the list of 16 permanent secretaries

- 12 of them had been earlier sworn in in August

PAY ATTENTION: Click “See First” under the “Following” tab to see News on your Facebook News Feed

During the weekly Federal Executive Council (FEC) meeting held on Wednesday, September 30, in Abuja, President Muhammadu Buhari swore in four newly appointed permanent secretaries.

The new appointees are James Sule, Ismaila Abubakar, Ibiene Patricia Roberts and Shehu Aliyu Shinkafi.

The permanent secretaries completed the list of 16 persons appointed earlier, 12 of whom were sworn in in August.

Those who virtually attended the FEC meeting included Vice President Yemi Osinbajo, Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF), Boss Mustapha, the chief of staff to the president, Professor Ibrahim Gambari and National Security Adviser (NSA), Major General Babagana Monguno.

Read also

Drama in Senate over Buhari's appointment from north as southeast lawmaker kicks

President Buhari swears in 4 new permanent secretaries
President Buhari (Photo credit: Twitter/Babafemi Oretuyi)
Source: Twitter

PAY ATTENTION: Get the Latest Nigerian News Anywhere 24/7. Spend less on the Internet!

Ministers present at the meeting were Attorney-General (AGF) and the minister for justice, Abubakar Malami, the minister of finance, budget and national planning, Zainab Ahmed, the minister of information and culture, Alhaji Lai Mohammed, and the minister of state for budget and national planning, Clement Agba.

Meanwhile, reported that President Buhari on Tuesday, September 29, made a crucial replacement of two non-career ambassadors-designate previously appointed by him.

This was contained in a letter directed to the Senate president, Ahmad Lawan, which he read during the first plenary after the lawmakers' two-month recess.

The replaced nominees were Peter Gana from Niger and Yusuf Mohammed from Yobe state. The president replaced them with Muhammed Manta and Yusufu Yunusa from Niger and Yobe states respectively.

President Buhari also sought the confirmation of eight appointments in the role of chairman, executive vice-chairman, chief executive, executive commissioners.

Read also

Breaking: President Buhari makes 8 crucial appointments from all geopolitical zones (full list)

Others were non-executive commissioners of the Federal Competition and Consumer Protection Commission.

Those appointed were Emeka Nwankpa (chairman), Babatunde lrukera (executive vice-chairman/CEO), Yinka Osoba Apata (executive commissioner) and Adamu Ahmed Abdullahi (executive commissioner).

5 years after, Nigerians speak about Buhari's administration | Legit TV


Online view pixel