Legit.ng politician of the year 2018 (RESULTS)

Legit.ng politician of the year 2018 (RESULTS)

Being the year before the general elections, political activities dominated the public discourse in Nigerian in 2018. Coupled with two governorship elections, Osun and Ekiti, the year saw major shake-ups in the political sector ahead of 2019.

As part of our customary annual review campaign, Legit.ng, Nigeria's leading digital news platform, has created a poll where our readers were asked to vote their politician of the year.

The poll featured five Nigerian political heavyweights that have been engaging Nigeria's mainstream media for the whole year.

Now the results of that poll have been collated and we are happy to present them to you!

Legit.ng politician of the year 2018 (RESULTS)
Legit.ng politician of the year 2018 (RESULTS)
Source: UGC

The politicians nominated for Politician of the Year were:

1. President Muhammadu Buhari: for producing one political masterstroke after another in 2018

President Muhammadu Buhari assumed the mantle of power in 2015, having defeated the then incumbent former president Goodluck Jonathan. He came with three major promises of restoring the security, fighting corruption, and fixing the economy. The 76-year-old’s administration was, however, hampered with ill-health.

Read also

Analysis: Is Chukwuemeka Nwajiuba Buhari's favourite APC aspirant?

Fortunately, since the beginning of 2018, his health has improved tremendously. He has been very active in engaging both national and international issues. The highlight of his activities in 2018 is his decision to contest for the second term bid in 2019.

2. Adams Oshiomhole: for his political moves that revamped the APC in 2018

From a labour leader to political leader, Adams Oshiomhole could be described as a ‘disrupter’ of status quo. Since his emergence as the national chairman of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Oshiomhole has been up and running, trying to strategically position his party to record massive victory in 2019. He uncompromising stance has seen him engage some APC governors and stakeholders in endless battles.

3. Ifeanyi Okowa: for organising the election that witnessed the emergence of Uche Secondus as PDP national chairman

Ifeanyi Okowa is the incumbent governor of Delta state. Okowa could be seen as one of the forces behind the ‘re-branding’ of the PDP after the party was plunged into crisis as a result of the 2015 defeat. The Delta state governor organised the election that witnessed the emergence of the Uche Secondus-led National Working Committee of the PDP.

Read also

2023: NYCN chides Emefiele over purchase of APC presidential form

4. Bukola Saraki: for his ‘expertise’ on how to keep the Red Chamber under control

Senate president Bukola Saraki is one of the notable Nigerian politicians that know ‘how to play the game’. He emerged as the Senate president in 2015 against the decision of his former party, APC. Despite his defection to the opposition party in 2018, Saraki’s ‘expertise’ in how to keep the Red Chamber under his control has ensured that he remains not impeached till date.

5. Rauf Aregbesola: for the remarkable job he did in Osun between 2010 and 2018 and ensuring a smooth transition in 2018

The former governor of Osun state, popularly referred to as ‘Ogbeni Aregbesola’ ruled the state between 2010 and 2018. Despite the challenges his administration faced particularly in terms of Salary payment, many applauded him for the feat he recorded in education and infrastructural development.

He also ensured that his anointed candidate, Gboyega Oyetola, succeeded him as the governor of the state.

Read also

Breaking: Former Ogun state governor Ibikunle Amosun officially declares for president, joins 2023 race

PAY ATTENTION: NAIJ.com upgrades to Legit.ng: a letter from our Editor-in-Chief Bayo Olupohunda

From the polls, and the comments on our Facebook pages, in fifth place, we have Adams Oshiomole. Oshiomhole’s transition from a union leader to state governor and eventually emerging as a chairman of a ruling party in the most populous country in Africa is phenomenal.

In fourth place, we have Ifeanyi Okowa. While Okowa is not much of a newsmaker as a governor, the unquantifiable role he played in the resuscitation of the PDP made him qualified for the nomination.

Rauf Aregbesola came third for keeping the state of Osun under his control for eight years and ensuring a smooth transition in 2018.

President Buhari emerged second in the poll. Indeed, in 2018, President Buhari's health witnessed tremendous improvement which made him to be very active through out the year.

Read also

Former APC national chairman declares for 2023 presidency, unveils plans

And the winner of the Legit.ng Politician of the Year for 2018 is Senate president Bukola Saraki!

Many comments praised his Saraki's political skill in ensuring he remains the Senate president till date, despite all the obstacles.

Additionally, you may see how the contest was developing by checking the detailed results of voting here and here

Thank you for your reading Legit.ng and for active participation.

Remember, the poll is neither a commendation nor condemnation of any politician by Legit.ng but a reflection of the opinions of Nigerians about all the nominees.

Additionally, you may see how the contest was developing by checking the detailed results of voting on the site here.

From the entire Legit.ng team, we wish you a happy and a prosperous New Year!

NAIJ.com (naija.ng) -> Legit.ng We have updated to serve you better

Source: Legit.ng

Online view pixel