Major Hausa states in Nigeria

Major Hausa states in Nigeria

What are the major Hausa states in Nigeria? The Hausa states are the states that are predominantly occupied by the Hausa people. These are majorly the states in the Northern part of the country. In our post, you will find a list of the states regarded as the Hausa states.

Map of the Hausa states in Nigeria

The Hausa are seemingly the largest ethnic group in Nigeria and one of the largest ethnic groups in Africa. They are one of the three majority ethnic groups in Nigeria. The other two are the Igbos and the Yorubas. Unlike the other two major ethnic groups in Nigeria, the Hausas are a more culturally homogeneous people.

Each of the thirty-six states in Nigeria has a predominantly ethnic group settled in them. The settlement of ethnic groups in Nigeria is based on their migration history and expansion. As we have already mentioned, the Hausas are located predominantly in the states in the Northern part of Nigeria. The Yorubas inhabit mainly the states in the South-Western part of Nigeria while the Igbos mainly live in the states located in the South-Eastern part of the country.

READ ALSO: Hausa culture and traditions in Nigeria: top facts to know

List of the Hausa states in Nigeria

Before the creation of Nigeria as a country and before the creation of the thirty-six states in Nigeria, the true Hausa settlements were:

  • Daura
  • Kano
  • Katsina
  • Zaria (Zazzau)
  • Gobir
  • Rano
  • Biram

These were founded by Bawo and his six sons. Bawo was the son of Bagwariya, who according to myth is believed to be the eponymous ancestor of the Hausa. These seven were occupied only by Hausa speaking people.

According to history and mythology, there were seven sons of Karbagari, another son of Bagwariya, the also have founded seven states:

  • Zamfara (state inhabited by Hausa-speakers)
  • Kebbi (state inhabited by Hausa-speakers)
  • Yauri (also called Yawuri)
  • Gwari (also called Gwariland)
  • Kwararafa (the state of the Jukun people)
  • Nupe (state of the Nupe people)

These were not regarded as true Hausa states because there were some other ethnic groups inhabiting these states. But for most of them, the inhabitants were predominantly Hausas. Also, some of the states became part of the Hausa Kingdoms after they were conquered by the Hausas with most of the original settlers either became slaves or fled.

List of major Hausa states in Nigeria

List of Hausa states in Nigeria today

It is difficult to say that some states are inhabited for 100% by the Hausa people, but we definitely can name the states where a big number of the population really belongs to this ethnic group. These states include:

  • Bauchi State
  • Borno State
  • Kano State
  • Katsina State
  • Plateau State
  • Taraba State
  • Niger State
  • Adamawa State
  • Kaduna State
  • Sokoto State
  • Jigawa State
  • Kebbi State
  • Zamfara State.

READ ALSO: Hausa festivals and holidays in Nigeria


Mailfire view pixel