Live Updates: Aiyedatiwa, 15 Other Aspirants Battle for Ondo APC Governorship Ticket

Live Updates: Aiyedatiwa, 15 Other Aspirants Battle for Ondo APC Governorship Ticket

Welcome to's live coverage of the Ondo All Progressives Congress (APC) governorship primary holding Saturday, April 20.

We bring you all the important updates as 16 aspirants, including the incumbent governor, Lucky Aiyedatiwa, slug it out for the ruling party's ticket.

Ondo APC aspirants/APC primary
Aiyedatiwa and 15 other aspirants slug it out for the Ondo APC governorship ticket. Photo credits: Olusola Oke 4 Governor, Ondo State, Jimoh Ibrahim CFR, OFR, Hon Lucky Orimisan Aiyedatiwa
Source: Facebook

APC declares Ondo governorship primary election inconclusive

The APC has declared its governorship primary election inconclusive in Ondo.

As reported by AIT on Sunday morning, April 21, this followed the receipt of reports of its primary election from the 203 wards in 18 local government areas (LGAs) of the southwest state.

Aiyedatiwa speaks after voting

Governor Aiyedatiwa has voted.

He performed his civic responsibility at Ward 4 in Obe-Nla, a riverine area in Ilaje local government.

Addressing newsmen, Aiyedatiwa described his presence in the town as a homecoming, where he had the opportunity to reunite with his childhood friends and schoolmates.

He expressed gratitude to the party faithful who turned out en masse to exercise their civic right.

Lucky Aiyedatiwa on his way to vote

Governor Aiyedatiwa, who is one of the aspirants, heads to Obe-Nla, an oil-producing community in Ilaje LGA of Ondo state, to cast his vote.

Ondo APC Gov aspirants protest in Akure

Some governorship aspirants in the Ondo APC primary election protested in Akure over the non-distribution of election materials, despite being told that distribution would commence at 7am, according to The Nation.

The aspirants, including Edema, claimed that no materials were distributed, and called for a postponement of the primary if the processes were not credible.

Olusola Oke's campaign director raises alarm

At St Stephen's Primary School, Ijomu Street, Akure, Yinka Akosile, director-general of the Olusola Oke campaign organisation for Ward 4, claims that political thugs harassed party members who do not support Governor Aiyedatiwa.

"They rough-handled me, they removed my tag and took it away. I have received phone calls that they are doing the same thing in every ward and shooting guns. That is why I am shouting to the world; I still need my life, my children and family need me," The Cable quoted him as saying.
"Security operatives should protect us, we are not safe."

Large turnout at voting centres in Okitipupa

The APC primary is reportedly recording a large turnout of members at the designated centres at the wards in Okitipupa.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the exercise at various wards in Okitipupa, however, suffered a delay as party officials and those of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) did not arrive on time.

At Ward 1 at Stella Maris College, Ward 2 at LA Primary School and Ayeka/Igbidigo Ward in Ayeka, large, enthusiastic party members gathered at the venues waiting for the arrival of officials to conduct the election.

Current situation in Akure

Around 11.45am at Ward 4, St Stephen's Primary School, Ijomu Street, Akure, party members are reportedly still waiting for voting materials.

Suspected thugs at the venue are seen harassing party members who do not support their preferred candidate.

Governor Ododo speaks on distribution of voting materials

Governor Usman Ododo announced at BON Hotel that voting materials for Ondo South and North senatorial districts had already been distributed.

This, however, sparked a heated argument with aspirant Edema.

The aspirant questioned the distribution process, challenging the method and channel used to distribute the materials.

Delay in distribution of electoral materials

As of 10am, electoral materials were yet to be distributed to the LGAs, according to TheCable. gathers that Gbenga Edema, one of the governorship aspirants, has expressed frustration over the delay in distributing voting materials.

He claims that Ovie Omo-Agege, the secretary of the organizing committee, had promised that the materials would be distributed at the BON Hotel in Akure, but this has yet to happen.

Ondo APC primary: Kogi governor Ododo in charge

Usman Ododo, governor of Kogi state, is the chairman of the seven-member committee overseeing the Ondo APC governorship primary.

He and other committee members are on ground in Akure, the state capital, to conduct the exercise.

171,922 accredited APC members to vote

The Ondo APC governorship primary election will involve 171,922 accredited party members casting their votes across 203 wards in all 18 local government areas of the state.

Direct primary adopted

The APC has adopted the direct mode for today's primary election. Thus, all accredited members of the party are eligible to vote for their preferred aspirants.

Ondo APC primary: List of 16 aspirants

  1. Lucky Aiyedatiwa
  2. Olusola Oke
  3. Jimoh Ibrahim
  4. Wale Akinterinwa
  5. Mayowa Akinfolarin
  6. Isaacs Kekemeke
  7. Gbenga Edema
  8. Ohunyeye Olamide Felix
  9. Jimi Odimayo
  10. Olusoji Adewale Ehinlanwo
  11. Morayo Lebi
  12. Diran Iyantan
  13. Francis Faduyile
  14. Ifeoluwa Oyedele
  15. Funmilayo Adekojo
  16. Funke Omogoroye Judith

Factbox: Only two of the 16 aspirants are female. They are Funmilayo Waheed-Adekojo and Funke Omogoroye Judith.

Online view pixel