Full List: Kogi LG, Wards Where Election Have Been Suspended and Why

Full List: Kogi LG, Wards Where Election Have Been Suspended and Why

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has suspended voting in some parts of Kogi state, where result sheets for the governorship elections were allegedly already filled before the exercise commenced.

In a statement on Saturday, November 11, the commission lamented the development, and described such results as unacceptable.

INEC/APC/PDP/SDP/Kogi State/Kogi Governorship Election
See the full list of local government wards INEC suspended elections in Kogi Photo Credit: INEC Nigeria
Source: Twitter

INEC disclosed that it received complaints in five local government areas of the state. The LGAs are Adavi, Ajaokuta, Ogori/Magongo, Okehi and Okene.

However, the electoral umpire maintained that the situation was more worrisome in the Ogori/Magongo and, therefore, announced the suspension of election in nine of the 10 wards in the local government.

Below is the list of the affected wards

  1. Eni
  2. Okibo
  3. Okesi
  4. Ileteju
  5. Aiyeromi
  6. Ugugu
  7. Obinoyin
  8. Obatgben
  9. Oturu

Source: Legit.ng

Bada Yusuf avatar

Bada Yusuf (Politics and Current Affairs Editor) Yusuf Amoo Bada is an accomplished politics and current affairs editor, boasting over 7 years of experience in journalism and writing. He is a graduate of OAU, and holds Diploma in Mass Comm. and BA in Literature in English. He has obtained certificates in Leadership and received the "Certificate for Breakthrough of the Year 2022" in recognition of his great performance during his first year at Legit.ng. Worked as Editor with OperaNews. Contact: bada.yusuf.amoo@corp.legit.ng or call 08161717844

Online view pixel