LG poll: PDP Missing as Electoral Commission Releases List of Parties With Candidates

LG poll: PDP Missing as Electoral Commission Releases List of Parties With Candidates

  • The PDP is missing on the list of cleared political parties for the forthcoming Ekiti state local government council election
  • Justice Jide Aladejana, the chairman of the State Independent Electoral Commission (SIEC), confirmed the political development
  • The election would hold across 16 LGAs, 19 local council development areas (LCDAs) and 2,195 polling units in the state

Ado-Ekiti - A report by The Guardian indicates that no fewer than six political parties have submitted candidates for the forthcoming Ekiti state local government council poll slated for December 4.

The chairman of the State Independent Electoral Commission (SIEC), Justice Jide Aladejana, disclosed this in Ado-Ekiti.

PDP Missing
Six political parties have presented candidates for the Ekiti State local government councils poll. Photo credit: @officialpdpnig
Source: Facebook

Aladejana gave the assurance that the election would be free, fair and credible, adding that no politician would be allowed to manipulate the outcome of the LG poll.

Read also

Lauretta Onochie's name missing as Senate receives seven INEC nominees from Buhari

Six political parties participating

He identified the political parties taking part in the chairmanship and councillorship elections as:

Do you have a groundbreaking story you would like us to publish? Please reach us through info@corp.legit.ng!

1. Action Alliance (AA)

2. African Democratic Congress (ADC)

3. All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA)

4. All Progressives ongress (APC)

5. National Reduce Movement (NRM)

6. Young Progressives Party (YPP)

Elections will be held across the 16 statutorily recognised local governments, 19 Local Council Development Authorities (LCDA) and 2,195 polling units, Daily Trust added.

According to him, security agencies and the commission have perfected strategies for credible elections.

Jubilation as PDP defeats APC in rescheduled LG election in Kaduna

Earlier, Legit.ng reported that Francis Zimbo, the chairmanship candidate of the PDP in the Zango Kataf local government area of Kaduna state was declared winner.

The Kaduna State Independent Electoral Commission declared Zimbo, PDP as the winner of the resheduled chairmanship elections held on Saturday, October 23.

Read also

Buhari or APC? Uzodimma reveals who will decide whether to challenge Soludo's victory

According to Nuhu Garba, the returning officer, Zimbo secured 28,771 votes to defeat John Hassan, the candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), who scored 19,509 votes.

LG Election: APC suffers defeat as tribunal revokes party's victory, declares PDP winner

Meanwhile, the Appeal Tribunal in Lagos state has declared Mustapha Olanrewaju, as winner of the local government election in Oriade Ward A, Kirikiri, Oriade Local Council Development Area (LCDA).

The court declared the lawful candidate of the PDP the winner of the councillorship position.

The five-man tribunal headed by Justice Morenike Obadina also invalidated the certificate of return earlier issued to the All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate, Onyeahasi Omolabake.

Source: Legit.ng

Online view pixel