LG Election: APC Suffers Defeat as Tribunal Revokes Party's Victory, Declares PDP Winner

LG Election: APC Suffers Defeat as Tribunal Revokes Party's Victory, Declares PDP Winner

  • An Appeal Tribunal sitting in Lagos state has sacked the candidate of the All Progressives Congress, Onyeahasi Omolabake
  • The five-man appeal court tribunal, however, ordered LASIEC to issue a certificate of return to the PDP candidate
  • Following its decision, the court ordered the state independent electoral commission to issue a new certificate of return to the winner

Laagos - The Appeal Tribunal in Lagos state has declared Mustapha Olanrewaju, as winner of the local government election in Oriade Ward A, Kirikiri, Oriade Local Council Development Area (LCDA)

Daily Trust reports that the court declared the lawful candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) the winner of the councillorship position.

APC Suffers Defeat
A tribunal has sacked All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate, Onyeahasi Omolabake as councillor Oriade Ward A. Photo credit: All Progressives Congress - APC
Source: Facebook

The five-man tribunal headed by Justice Morenike Obadina also invalidated the certificate of return earlier issued to the All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate, Onyeahasi Omolabake.

The tribunal in the judgement delivered at the Central Business District, Alausa, Ikeja, ordered the Lagos State Independent Electoral Commission (LASIEC) to issue a Certificate of Return to Olanrewaju, Vanguard added.

Read also

Anambra election: INEC announces date to present Certificate of Return to Soludo

Do you have a groundbreaking story you would like us to publish? Please reach us through info@corp.legit.ng!

The LASIEC chairman, Justice Ayotunde Phillips (retd), who was represented by a LASIEC Commissioner, Olusegun Ayedun, issued a Certificate of Return to the PDP candidate.

APC records massive win in Lagos state council elections

Legit.ng previously reported that LASIEC announced that APC won all the 57 council seats in the state’s local government election.

The results were announced by returning officers at all the 57 Collation Centres in the state. Although the Saturday, July 24 election recorded low participation by the voters, members of the APC expressed joy that they won the poll.

One of the party members, Kolade Alabi, who was re-elected in Bariga for another four-year term, thanked the people for their trust in him.

Lagos LG Polls: Yiaga Africa reveals key observations from exercise

Read also

List of top losers as INEC concludes Anambra state governorship election

Meanwhile, Yiaga Africa released its observations following the Local Government Areas (LGAs) and Local Council Development Areas (LCDAs) elections in Lagos state.

In a statement made available to Legit.ng, the non-governmental organisation listed seven observations concerning the just concluded election.

Yiaga Africa WTV observers reported that no polling official was seen in 61 of the polling units visited. Late opening and commencement of polls was a general observation across the state.

Source: Legit.ng

Online view pixel