Full List of Public Holidays Nigerians Will Celebrate in 2022

Full List of Public Holidays Nigerians Will Celebrate in 2022

  • Nigerians are looking forward to the Id el Kabir holidays in July as part of the celebration of the Muslims
  • Meanwhile, the month of June have witnessed the 'Democracy Day' holiday and the 'Father's Day' celebration
  • Also, the most anticipated October 1 public holiday is also on the card as Nigeria will mark its independence anniversary as a sovereign nation

Public holidays in Nigeria are usually very interesting, especially festive public holidays.

Nigerians tend to make the most out of their holidays by throwing big parties, get-togethers, and picnics as the case may be.

According to a BBC pidgin report, there are 21 public holidays in Nigeria for the year 2022.

Public Holidays, Nigeria, 2022,Rauf Aregbesola
The office of the Minister of Interior is responsible for announcing public holidays in Nigeria. Photo Credit: (Rauf Aregbesola)

For some, this is a bit of good news while for others, the holidays might not favour their schedules, businesses, or other commitments.

Read also

Bong! Big Ben's back in Britain

PAY ATTENTION: Join Legit.ng Telegram channel! Never miss important updates!

It is important to note that in Nigeria, whenever there is a declaration of the holiday by the federal government through the ministry of interior, it becomes an automatic closure of major economic activities.

For instance, all the financial institutions will join the holidays, schools, government offices and other types of business will go on break.

Meanwhile, when the door is closed on others, it opens for others. For those in the entertainment world, the public holidays are the perfect period to organize events, parties, and other funfair activities.

Public holidays in Nigeria for 2022

1 January - Saturday - New Year Day

3 January - Monday- New Year Day Holiday

15 April - Friday - Good Friday

18 April - Monday - Easter Monday

1 May - Sunday - Labour Day

Read also

Photos Emerge as President Buhari Meets King Charles III in UK

2 May - Monday - Labour Day Holiday

3 May - Tuesday - Eid el Fitri

4 May - Wednesday - Eid el Fitri

27 May - Friday - Children Day (Public Holiday for Schools and Children only)

12 June - Sunday - Democracy Day

13 June - Monday - Democracy Day Holiday

10 July - Sunday - Eid el Kabir

11 July - Monday - Eid el Kabir

12 July - Tuesday - Eid el Kabir Holiday (Most likely to fall on Sunday according to the Lunar calendar)

1 October - Saturday - National Day

3 October - Monday - National Day Holiday (This is because the National Day fall on Saturday)

8 October - Saturday - Id el Maulud

10 October - Monday - Id el Maulud Holiday (This is because Id el Maulud falls on Saturday)

25 December - Sunday - Christmas Day

26 December - Monday - Boxing Day

27 December - Tuesday - Christmas Day Holiday (This is because Christmas falls on Sunday)

Source: Legit.ng

Online view pixel