Jonathan's Last Minute Appointments: Buhari Orders Review

Jonathan's Last Minute Appointments: Buhari Orders Review

President Muhammadu Buhari has ordered a compilation of all the appointments made by former President Goodluck Jonathan between April 1 and May 28, 2015.

That is the period Jonathan spent in office after losing the March 28 presidential election to Buhari.

The inspector general of police (IGP) Solomon Arase, the chairman of the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC), Peter Obi, the chairman of the National Hajj Commission (NAHCON), Abdullahi Mukhtar Mohammed, and many others may lose their positions as a result of this, Daily Trust reports.

According to Babachir David Lawal, the secretary to the government of the federation (SGF), some of the appointments within that period were not based on merit and did not follow the various laws.

A service wide circular dated September 18, 2015, read: “It is in view of the foregoing that, Mr. President directed that all appointments made into executive and non-executive positions (including renewal of tenure) in all federal government parastatals, agencies and commissions between the period 1st April, 2015 to 28th May, 2015 should be reviewed.”

READ ALSO: Presidency Seeks Kachikwu's Replacement


They were further directed to ensure that the list gets to the office of the SGF not later than 30th September, 2015.

Jonathan made several appointments after he lost the presidential election. He appointed Arase on April 21, following the removal of Suleiman Abba from the office.

Obi was appointed on April 27 as SEC chairman, while Mohammed was appointed NAHCON chairman on May 5 and inaugurated on May 22 along with other members.

Others who were appointed within that period are; Asabe Asmau Ahmed as executive secretary of the Petroleum Equalisation Fund, Bassey Okon Akpanyung as the secretary to the National Planning Commission and Denzil Amagbe Kentebe was appointed as executive secretary of the Nigerian Content Management Development Board.

Alhaji Haruna Sambo and Babatunde Igun were also appointed as executive directors for the Bank of Agriculture. There appointments were approved on May 28th, but the letters were dated May 27, 2015.


Online view pixel