What Committee Plans For Buhari’s Inauguration

What Committee Plans For Buhari’s Inauguration

To enable a smooth hand-over of power on May 29 the Presidential Inauguration Planning Committee has defined a week long activities for the inauguration of the President-elect, Muhammadu Buhari (rtd).

Timipre Silva, the ex-governor of Bayelsa state and the Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF), Senator Anyim Pius Anyim, will co-chair the 2015 Presidential Inauguration Planning Committee (PIPC).

Both of them talked to the state house reporters on Thursday, April 23, at the end of the second meeting of the committee organised inside the old Banquet Hall of the Aso Rock, Abuja.

READ ALSO: General Buhari Asks Nigerians To Stay Awake

Anyim recorded the activities that have been outlined for the inauguration to comprise a Jumat service, an ecumenical church service, inauguration dinner, the swearing-in ceremony, a lunch and a gala night.

Meanwhile, he did not give the information of the dates and places of the events.

He said: “The inauguration committee has had two meetings thus far.

“The purpose of this press briefing is to present the programme to the public; seek their understanding, support and participation in the 2015 presidential inauguration.

“The committee has planned one week programme of activity each of which is as important as the other.

“They include press briefing, Jumat prayers, inter-denominational church service, inauguration dinner, swearing-in ceremony, lunch immediately after the swearing-in ceremony and a gala night.

“We have accordingly created sub-committees to focus on each activity. The co-chairmen and members of the sub-committees may now or later take their turns in briefing the public on their activities.”

The co-chair of the committee clarified that there are two parallel transition committees and inauguration committee.

He said the inauguration committee was organized to be a united committee of the present government and incoming government.

Members from the outgoing administration comprise the Chief of Defence‎, Air Chief Marshal, Alex Badeh; Minister of Federal Capital Territory, Bala Mohammed; Minister of Water Resources, Sarah Ochekpe; Minister of ‎Aviation, Osita Chidoka; Minister of Culture, Tourism and National Orientation, Edem Duke; Minister of Lands, Housing and Urban Development, Akon Ayakenyi; and Minister of Foreign Affairs, Aminu Wali; Minister of Interior, Abba Moro.

READ ALSO: Plaintiffs Seeking To Stop Buhari Make U-Turn

Others are the representative of the Office of the National Security Adviser, Bello Fadile; the Inspector-General of Police; Minister of State Defence, Col. Austin Akobundu (retd.); Commander Brigades of Guards, Brig. Gen. A. B. Omozoje and Mrs. Ibukun Odusote, Permanent Secretary, Presidency (Office of the Secretary to Government of the Federation).

Members of incoming administration are Timipre Sylva, (co-chairman), Chief Pius Akinyelure, Mrs. Abike Dabiri Erewa, Ms. Sharon Ikeazor, ‎Prof. Tony Anwuka, Alhaji Kawy Baraje, Sen John Shagaya (rtd), Hadiza Bala Usman, Babagana Kingibe, Ismaila Isa Tuntua, Senator Binta Masi Garba, Mr. Babachir Lawal and Mr. Samson Osagie.

Former military ruler has become the first Nigerian to defeat a sitting president through the election, putting him in charge of Africa’s most populous nation and its biggest economy.

Buhari was announced the winner after he scored 2.7 million more votes than his rival, incumbent President Goodluck Jonathan in March 28 presidential poll.

Source: Legit.ng

Khadijah Thabit avatar

Khadijah Thabit (Copyeditor) Khadijah Thabit is an editor with over 3 years of experience editing and managing contents such as articles, blogs, newsletters and social leads. She has a BA in English and Literary Studies from the University of Ibadan, Nigeria. Khadijah joined Legit.ng in September 2020 as a copyeditor and proofreader for the Human Interest, Current Affairs, Business, Sports and PR desks. As a grammar police, she develops her skills by reading novels and dictionaries. Email: khadeeejathabit@gmail.com

Online view pixel