Abdulsalami, Afe Babalola, Others Win African Peace Award

Abdulsalami, Afe Babalola, Others Win African Peace Award

A former Head of state, General Abdusalami  Abubakar (rtd), Aare Afe Babalola SAN, were among eminent Nigerians identified as winners of the 2012 edition of the African Peace Award by the National Peace Initiative Forum (NAPIF).

NAPIF, a continental body which promotes peaceful coexistence would confer the award on deserving Nigerians on August 31 this year at the Trenchard Hall of the University of Ibadan, Oyo state.

In a release the NAPIF president, Dr. Olapade Agoro said that other awardees were Oyo State Governor Senator Abiola Ajimobi, Edo State Governor Adams Oshiomole , Ondo State Governor Olusegun Mimiko, former Lagos State Governor, Senator Bola Tinubu and  Mrs Hannah Dideolu Awolowo, the matriarch of the Awolowo dynasty.

Also on the honours list were South African president Mr. Jacob Zuma, his predecessor in office Thabo Mbeki, Liberian president, Mrs Ellen Johnson, Sirleaf and the publisher of Vanguard newspaper, Sam Amuka-Pemu.

Dr. Agoro disclosed that his forum arrived at the decision after a thorough research that lasted a year and added that most of the awardees have agreed to be so honoured.

Source: Legit.ng

Online view pixel