Only God can tell: Transport minister Amaechi speaks on who will succeed Buhari in 2023

Only God can tell: Transport minister Amaechi speaks on who will succeed Buhari in 2023

- Transport minister Ameachi has said only God knows who will emerge Nigeria's president in 2023

- The minister said this while reacting to the speculations that he is been touted as President Buhari's successor

- Amaechi said, for now, his focus is on his job as a transport minister, not the 2023 politics

PAY ATTENTION: Join Telegram channel! Never miss important updates!

Rotimi Amaechi, Nigeria's transportation minister, has dismissed the speculations that he is being considered as President Muhammadu Buhari's successor in 2023.

Channels TV reports that the minister said during ones of its programmes on Sunday, February 7, that only God knows who will become the nation's president in 2023. gathers that Amaechi said rather than being distracted by the politics of 2023, he is focused on delivering his duties as a minister.

2023 elections: Transport minister Amaechi speaks on who will succeed Buhari in 2023
Transport minister Amaechi says only God can tell who will succeed Buhari in 2023. Photo credit: @ChibuikeAmaechi
Source: Twitter

His words:

“I am still the minister for transportation and only God can tell who will be the president of Nigeria in 2023."

Read also

Tinubu revalidates his membership, endorses Akande’s criticism of APC leadership

2023 Presidency

Though 2023 is still a bit far, discussions on who will succeed President Buhari has been a front-burner issue in the nation's political space.

While the southern region believes it is their turn to occupy Aso Villa in 2023, some stakeholders in the north still argue the region should retain the presidency.

Politicians allegedly eyeing the presidency

Politicians from the All Progressives Congress (APC) and the opposition Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) have reportedly started making moves to succeed President Buhari.

Below is a list of some of them:

  1. Atiku Abubakar
  2. Bola Ahmed Tinubu
  3. Rotimi Amaechi
  4. Kayode Fayemi
  5. Rabiu Musa Kwankwaso
  6. Donald Duke
  7. Rabiu Musa Kwankwaso
  8. Owelle Rochas Okorocha
  9. Ahmed Sani Yarima
  10. Aminu Waziri Tambuwal
  11. Yahaya Bello
  12. David Umahi
  13. Bala Mohammed notes that this still remains speculation as some of the listed politicians, just like Amaechi, have dismissed their interest in the number one seat.

Read also

Nigerians will definitely vote APC again in 2023, says Hope Uzodinma

PAY ATTENTION: Install our latest app for Android, read best news on Nigeria’s #1 news app

In other news, an ally of President Buhari and pioneer national chairman of the defunct Congress for Progressive Change (CPC), Rufai Hanga, has given an insight into the politicking ahead of the 2023 general elections.

Hanga claimed he has authentic information that the presidential ambition of the national leader of the APC in 2023 would be truncated by some powerful members of the party.

He said reliable sources within the party told him that Tinubu would never be allowed to get near the presidency, adding that the former governor of Lagos state has been short-changed.


Online view pixel