Behold, here are the top politicians eyeing Buhari’s seat in 2023

Behold, here are the top politicians eyeing Buhari’s seat in 2023

As 2023 presidential election gradually draws nearer, politicians from the All Progressives Congress (APC) and the opposition Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) have started making moves to succeed President Muhammadu Buhari.

PAY ATTENTION: Join Telegram channel! Never miss important updates! in this report takes a look at some of these politicians.

Atiku Abubakar

Abubakar is the vice to Olusegun Obasanjo from 1999 to 2007 and he was the PDP presidential candidate in the 2019 general elections.

Behold, here are the top politicians eyeing Buhari’s seat in 2023
The 2023 elections are two years and two months away. Already, notable politicians from APC and PDP have begun discreet campaigns to succeed President Buhari. Photo: BBC
Source: UGC

Bola Ahmed Tinubu

Tinubu is the APC national leader. Though he has not openly declared his intention to run for the 2023 presidenc, his supporters have commenced early campaigns for him.

Rotimi Amaechi

Though he has not declared his intention, Rotimi Amaechi, a former governor of Rivers state and current minister of transportation, is believed to have ambition of succeeding Buhari.

Kayode Fayemi

Governor Kayode Fayemi of Ekiti state has not declared for president in 2023, but it is an open secret that he wishes to contest the 2023 presidency.

Read also

BREAKING: Sad day as former presidential adviser dies following undisclosed illness

Rabiu Musa Kwankwaso

Senator Rabiu Musa Kwankwaso, a two-term former governor of Kano state, is believed to have ambition of contesting in 2023.

Donald Duke

Donald Duke is believed to be nursing the ambition of becoming Nigeria's president in 2023.

Owelle Rochas Okorocha

Rochas Okorocha, the former Imo state governor and senator representing Imo West, is believed to be nursing the ambition of succeeding Buhari in 2023.

Ahmed Sani Yarima

Former Zamfara state governor who represented Zamfara West in the National Assembly is the only person to have declared his ambition to be president in 2023, Daily Trust reports.

Aminu Waziri Tambuwal

Tambuwal who is the current Sokoto state is believed to be nursing the ambition of contesting in 2023.

Yahaya Bello

Governor Yahaya Bello of Kogi state is among those eyeing Buhari’s seat in 2023.

David Umahi

Governor David Umahi of Ebonyi state who recently defected to APC is also one of the politicians from the south east believed to be interested in Buhari’s seat in 2023.

Read also

Why Tinubu not Fayemi must succeed Buhari in 2023 - APC chieftain opens up

Bala Mohammed

Governor Bala Abdulkadir Mohammed of Bauchi state has not shown any interest to run for the presidency but a civic group, Abuja Coalition of Youth and Women, has called on him to contest the elections. had reported that Chief George Moghalu, the managing director of the National Inland Water Ways (NIWA), has lent his support for an Igbo presidency come 2023.

Moghalu, in a conversation with journalists on Saturday, December 27, said that southeasterners must fight hard to produce an Igbo president in the next presidential election because power is not given but should be taken democratically, Daily Trust reports.

The NIWA chief said that persons from the geopolitical region must organise themselves and aim at making an Igbo person win the primaries in both the All Progressives Congress (APC) and the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

2023 election: Why a northerner should be President again - Shettima | Legit TV

Read also

He was a refined ruler - Buhari extols, mourns as Kwankwaso's father dies on Christmas day

Source: News

Online view pixel