Cristiano Ronaldo beats Lionel Messi, Robert Lewandowski to win Golden Foot Award

Cristiano Ronaldo beats Lionel Messi, Robert Lewandowski to win Golden Foot Award

- Cristiano Ronaldo scored 37 goals and registered 6 assists for Juventus last season

- The Portuguese striker has bagged the 2020 Golden Foot Award in style

- CR7 beats the likes of Lionel Messi, Neymar, Robert Lewandowski to the prestigious prize

PAY ATTENTION: Click “See First” under the “Following” tab to see News on your Facebook News Feed!

Cristiano Ronaldo has bagged the 2020 Golden Foot Award after the Juventus striker beat arch-rival Lionel Messi as well as Robert Lewandowski to win the prize.

The award which is organised by the World Champions Club company also had the likes of Neymar, Sergio Aguero, Sergio Ramos among the nominees for the 2020 edition.

Others are Chiellini, Gerard Pique, Mohamed Salah and Arturo Vidal, but it was the Portuguese legend that took home the award named 'Vecchia Signora' as cited in BeSoccer.

Read also

Brentford star Mbeumo eyes World Cup place with Cameroon

The 35-year-old had more votes compared to others, thanks to his sublime form last season when he scored 37 goals and registered 6 assists in 46 matches for Juventus.

PAY ATTENTION: Share your outstanding story with our editors! Please reach us through!

The president of the Italian club, Andrea Agnelli, was also awarded the first Golden Foot Prestige.

It was gathered that the prestigious award can only be won by an individual once in his life as it had been previously won by Modric, in 2019, and others like Casillas, Cavani, Buffon and Andrés Iniesta.

Cristiano Ronaldo beats Messi, Lewandowski to win the prestigious Golden Foot Award
Cristiano Ronaldo has been presented with the 2020 Golden Foott Award. Photo: Stefano Guidi
Source: Getty Images

Also, Jurgen Klopp has been named in the five-man shortlist for this year's FIFA The Best Awards after guiding Liverpool to their first-ever Premier League title in over three decades.

Not only did the Reds lifted the trophy at the end of the season, but they also won in style after gapping second-place Manchester City with a staggering 18 points.

Read also

Chilean Allende grabs winner for South African leaders Sundowns

Klopp will, however, contend for the prestigious prize with four other coaches who were also superb in the outgoing year.

Other managers in this category are Marcelo Bielsa, Hans-Dieter Flick, Julen Lopetegui and Zinedine Zidane.

Meanwhile, earlier reported that Diego Maradona once had his say on the unending debate between countryman Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo over who the better player is.

Messi and Ronaldo share a staggering 11 Ballon d’Or titles between themselves with the Argentine having six while his Portuguese counterpart has five in his kitty.

Many consider Diego Maradona to be the greatest to ever play the game of football but he also aired his personal opinion saying although he preferred Messi, he stated that Ronaldo is incredible.

Afcon Qualifiers: Sports Minister trains with Super Eagles | Legit TV


Online view pixel