8 state governors whose elections have been affirmed by Supreme Court

8 state governors whose elections have been affirmed by Supreme Court

The Supreme Court on Wednesday, December 18, gave rulings on the appeals filed by the governorship contenders challenging the outcomes of the gubernatorial elections in eight states.

In all the affected states, the apex court affirmed the elections of the governors which both the states won by the All Progressives Congress (APC) and the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

Following the apex court judgement, five governors on the platform of the APC had their elections affirmed while the elections of three PDP governors were also upheld.

Here is a list of the governors whose elections were affirmed, including their states and parties.

8 state governors whose elections have been affirmed by Supreme Court

Eight state governors whose elections have been affirmed by Supreme Court
Source: UGC

1. Seyi Makinde, PDP, Oyo state

The legal battle was between Governor Makinde and Adebayo Adelabu of the APC. Justice Ukaego Mary Peter-Odili, who presided over the ruling at the Supreme Court in Abuja set aside the judgement of the appeal court which she said was a miscarriage of justice.

Adelabu's appeal was therefore dismissed while Makinde was affirmed as the duly elected governor of Oyo state.

2. Dapo Abiodun, APC, Ogun state

The legal tussle was between Governor Abiodun and Adekunle Akinlade, the governorship candidate of the Allied Peoples Movement (APM).

The judge dismissed Akinlade's appeal over failure to prove all the allegations listed in his petition.

3. Nasir El-Rufai, APC, Kaduna state

The gubernatorial legal tussle in Kaduna was between Governor El-Rufai and Isah Ashiru of the PDP. The Supreme Court upheld El-Rufai's victory on the grounds that Ashiru's appeal had no merit and was subsequently dismissed.

4. Abdullahi Sule, APC, Nasarawa state

Governor Sule's election was challenged to the apex court level by the PDP's David Ombugadu.

However, the Supreme Court dismissed the appeal ruling that the Ombugadu failed to prove allegations of substantial non-compliance in the election.

5. Aminu Masari, APC, Katsina state

Governor Aminu Masari's election was challenged by the PDP's Senator Garba Lado. The apex court ruled that Lado did not prove beyond a reasonable doubt that Masari did not qualify to participate in the election.

6. Udom Emmanuel, PDP, Akwa Ibom state

Governor Udom Emmanuel's election was challenged by the APC's Nsima Ekere. The court held that Ekere's appeal lacked merit dismissed it, thereby affirming Emmanuel's victory.

7. Babajide Sanwo-Olu, APC, Lagos state

Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu's election was affirmed by the Supreme Court, ruling that the cases brought by the applicants did not comply with the requirements for such applications according to Nigeria’s electoral law.

The apex court also ruled the applicants' allegations of non-compliance brought against Governor Sanwo-Olu were not substantiated.

PAY ATTENTION: Install our latest app for Android, read the best news on Nigeria’s #1 news app

8. David Umahi, PDP, Ebonyi state

Governor David Umahi's election was challenged by the Peoples Democratic Movement (PDM) and Ajah Agha.

The petitioners had claimed that INEC had unlawfully excluded the name of the PDM candidate from the ballot paper. The Supreme Court, however, dismissed their appeal was dismissed for lacking merit.

NAIJ.com (naija.ng) - Legit.ng. We have upgraded to serve you better.

2023 election: Why a northerner should be President again - Shettima | Legit TV

Source: Legit

Online view pixel