APC clears 13 seats, PDP wins 3 as local government election results are collated

APC clears 13 seats, PDP wins 3 as local government election results are collated

The ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) in Kaduna has widened its success in the just concluded council elections in the state winning Sabon Gari and Igabi local government areas to make it 13 seats it had so far won.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the returning officer for Sabon Gari local government, Micah Victor, announced Mohammed Ibrahim Usman of the APC as winner with 20,576 votes against PDP’s Suleiman Ibrahim Gambo who got 9,580.

READ ALSO: Kayode Fayemi wins Ekiti APC governorship ticket

Ahmed Kofa, the returning officer for Igabi local government, also announced that Jabir Khamis of the APC was returned elected chairman of the local government after winning 47,630, against Abubakar Abubakar of the PDP who got 2,449 votes.

Daily Trust reports that the results of 16 local governments so far announced show that the All Progressives Congress (APC) has won with a wide margin while the PDP won three local government areas.

The report said the APC won in mainly northern and central parts of the state but was able to win one local government in the south.

Apart from the two earlier mentioned, the APC in Soba, Zaria, Lere, Ikara, Makarfi, Birnin Gwari, Giwa, Kagarko, Kudan, Kajuru and Kaduna North local councils.

On the other hand, the PDP won the chairmanship and councillorship election in Zangon Kataf, Kauru and Sanga local government areas of the state.

PAY ATTENTION: Read the news on Nigeria’s #1 news app

The report said the returning officer for Zangon Kataf, Danjuma Baye-Luka, announced the results saying Elias Maza of the PDP scored 55,643 votes to defeat APC’s John Hassan who polled 31,514 votes.

The results further showed that in Zaria, APC polled 42,859 votes, while PDP got 16,033. In Soba, APC got 40,903, while PDP scored 13,835. In Kaduna North, Saleh Shu’aibu of the APC emerged winner with the returning officer, Umar Hayatu, saying he polled a total of 168,572 votes against Muhammad Sabo Babayaro of the Peoples Democratic Party who got 12,467 votes.

Legit.ng earlier reported that the delay in the distribution of election materials left voters stranded in most parts of Kaduna metropolis, Chikun and Igabi local areas who turned out to elect their local government officials on Saturday, May 12.

The election materials were yet to be deployed to voting centres monitored as at 11am, raising concerns among some of the as to whether the election would hold.

President Buhari on 2019 presidential election: will you vote for him? | Legit.ng TV

Source: Legit.ng

Mailfire view pixel