New Twist in Senate Presidency Race as Odds Favour Senator Sani Musa

New Twist in Senate Presidency Race as Odds Favour Senator Sani Musa

  • Senator Sani Musa has emerged as one of the front-liners for the Senate Presidency position ahead of the 10th National Assembly inauguration
  • Loyalists of Senator Musa say his ambition is so significant that the APC national chairman is willing to pave the way for him by resigning
  • The ruling party’s chairman, Senator Abdullahi Adamu, is from the north-central region, like Senator Musa

PAY ATTENTION: See you at Media Literacy Webinar! Register for free now!

FCT, Abuja - A report by ThisDay indicates that the national chairman of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Senator Abdullahi Adamu, may resign to pave the way for Senator Mohammed Sani Musa as the next Senate President.

According to the report, Senator Musa representing Niger East Senatorial District has offered himself for the plum position.

Senator Adamu was in the upper chamber before being voted APC national chairman. Photo credit: @NGRSenate
Source: Twitter

A close associate of the senator quoted in the report said:

“Senator Musa will run for the office of the Senate President. We hope that the All Progressives Congress would zone the office to the north-central zone.”

Read also

Presidential election tribunal: Keyamo gives reason for his absence on list of lawyers representing Tinubu

PAY ATTENTION: Follow us on Instagram - get the most important news directly in your favourite app!

Asked if the senator could emerge as the Senate President when the party’s national chairman was also from the north-central zone, the source said Abdullahi was ready to resign his appointment to make it possible.

His words:

“Senator Abdullahi Adamu is interested in the emergence of Sani Musa as the next Senate President, and he would not mind resigning his appointment to make that happen.”

Public holiday moves lawmakers’ inauguration date to June 13

Meanwhile, Leadership reports that barring any unforeseen circumstance, the 10th National Assembly will be inaugurated on Tuesday, June 13, two days after the lifespan of the current 9th National Assembly would have expired on Sunday, June 11.

The current National Assembly was inaugurated on June 11, 2019.

Its lifespan will terminate on Sunday, June 11, a non-working day, while the next day, June 12, is a public holiday to mark Democracy Day.

Read also

Airbus deliveries bounce back in February

Senate Presidency: APC powerbrokers reportedly favour Uzor-Kalu earlier reported that Senator Uzor-Kalu will likely get the support of powerbrokers in the APC.

The former governor of Abia state is said to have the backing of significant stakeholders due to his current position in the Senate.

He will, however, face stiff opposition from some APC senators who are also eyeing the plum position.

First-timers Yari, Oshiomhole, Umahi eye Senate Presidency

In a related development, analysts say the race for the Senate presidency in the incoming 10th National Assembly may have taken a new turn.

Feelers from the ruling APC indicate that first-timers are interested in the race, not minding that they are not ranking senators.

They include former APC national chairman; Adams Oshiomhole, former governor of Zamfara state Abdulaziz Yari and current governor of Ebonyi state, Dave Umahi.


Online view pixel