Full List: Nigeria’s 22 Chief Justices Since Pre-colonial, Post-colonial Era

Full List: Nigeria’s 22 Chief Justices Since Pre-colonial, Post-colonial Era

  • Before Justice Olukayode Ariwoola, there was Justice Stafford Foster Sutton, the legendary Justice Adetokunbo Ademola KBE and others
  • The position of the Chief Justice of Nigeria (CJN) dates back to the pre-colonial era of 1914 when Nigeria had Sir Edwin Speed as its first Chief Justice
  • However, there was a transition down the line in the post-colonial era when Nigeria has its first indigenous Chief Justice in 1958

PAY ATTENTION: Сheck out news that is picked exactly for YOU ➡️ find the “Recommended for you” block on the home page and enjoy!

Following the swearing-in of Justice Olukayode Ariwoola of the Supreme Court as the acting Chief Justice of Nigeria (CJN) by President Muhammadu Buhari, Nigeria has over the years had 21 justices who previously held the position.

Justice Ariwoola becomes the 22nd Chief Justice of Nigeria (CJN) since the beginning of the colonial era as well as the 17th since the post-colonial era.

Justice Olukayode Ariwoola
Justice Olukayode Ariwoola took the oath of office at the presidential villa on Monday, June 27. Photo: Guardian.ng
Source: Twitter

However, Legit.ng in this short piece will be reeling out all the 22 Chief Justice of Nigeria (CJN) since 1914.

Pre-colonial era

1. Sir Edwin Speed, 1914–1918

PAY ATTENTION: Subscribe to Digital Talk newsletter to receive must-know business stories and succeed BIG!

2. Sir Ralph Combe, 1918–1929

3. Donald Kingdon, 1929–1946

4. Sir John Verity, 1946–1954

5. Sir Stafford Sutton, 1955–1958

Post-colonial era/military era

6. Sir Adetokunbo Ademola, 1958–1972

7. Taslim Olawale Elias, 1972–1975

8. Sir Darnley Arthur Alexander, 1975–1979

9. Atanda Fatai Williams, 1979–1983

10. George Sodeinde Sowemimo, 1983–1985

11. Ayo Gabriel Irikefe, 1985–1987

12. Mohammed Bello, 1987–1995

Post-military/democratic era

13. Muhammad Lawal Uwais, 1995–2006

14. Salihu Moddibo Alfa Belgore, 2006–2007

15. Idris Legbo Kutigi, 2007–2009

16. Aloysius Iyorgyer Katsina-Alu, 2009–2011

17. Dahiru Musdapher, 2011–2012

18. Aloma Mariam Mukhtar, 2012–2014

19. Mahmud Mohammed, 2014–2016

20. Walter Samuel Nkanu Onnoghen, 2017–2019

21. Ibrahim Tanko Muhammad, 2019–2022

22. Olukayode Ariwoola, 2022-

Supreme court vacancies: breakdown of shortlisted judges by region as lawyers, SANs sidelined

Meanwhile, the FJSC has shortlisted 29 judges of the court of appeal to fill six vacant positions at the supreme court bench.

According to section 231(3) of the 1999 constitution, the position is open to legal practitioners with a minimum of 15 years post-call.

In a letter dated June 13 by the NBA judicial committee's chairman, Babatunde Ajibade, none of the 23 lawyers who applied were shortlisted.

Source: Legit.ng

Online view pixel