“Pay Your Debt in 10 Days”: Abuja DisCo Releases Debt Amount Owed by CBN, Aso Rock, 84 other MDAs

“Pay Your Debt in 10 Days”: Abuja DisCo Releases Debt Amount Owed by CBN, Aso Rock, 84 other MDAs

  • The AEDC has issued a disconnection notice to the Presidential Villa and 85 other government agencies
  • The company said this followed unpaid substantial electricity bills owed by the listed entities
  • The MDAs affected include the presidential villa, the Central Bank of Nigeria, the ministry of finance and others.

Legit.ng journalist Dave Ibemere has over a decade of experience covering Tech, Energy, Stocks, Investments, and the Economy.

The Abuja Electricity Distribution Company (AEDC) has issued a disconnection notice to the Presidential Villa, along with 85 other ministries, departments, and agencies under the federal and state governments.

Electricity companies
10 days notice for electricity companies Photo credit: Pius Utomi Ekpei
Source: Facebook

The AEDC published the disconnection notice in national dailies such as the Punch and ThisDay on Monday, February 19, 2024.

The DisCo stated that the total outstanding debt as of December 2023 amounted to N47.195 billion.

Read also

Naira: Nigerian Breweries releases new prices for Gulder, 33 extra, Heineken, others drinks

PAY ATTENTION: Сheck out news that is picked exactly for YOU ➡️ find the “Recommended for you” block on the home page and enjoy!

AEDC gives 10-day notice

According to the directive, the indebted MDAs have been given a 10-day notice, that is till February 28, 2024 to offset their bills or face disconnection.

Part of the notice reads:

"The relevant MDAs are hereby given that AEDC shall, after the expiration of 10 days from the day of the publication to pay their debt, that is, after Wednesday, February 28, 2024, embark on disconnection of service to them until they discharge their obligation to pay us their debts."

It listed the Chief of Defence Staff, Barracks and Military formations, the Federal Capital Territory Authority, and the Ministry of Finance as its top debtors in the period under review.

Others are the Ministry of Power, Ministry of State Petroleum, Central Bank Governor, the Independence National Electoral Commission (INEC), Nigeria Police Force, and other MDAs listed as debtors to AEDC.

Read also

Dangote, BUA, Lafarge, other cement manufacturers agree on new price for a bag

TCN speaks on improved electricity supply

Legit.ng earlier reported that the fifty-three (53) ongoing power projects funded by the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) power intervention fund would be completed by May 2024, according to the Transmission Company of Nigeria (TCN).

Matthew Ajibade, the TCN programme coordinator in charge of the initiative, made this known during a tour of three projects at Ojo, Isolo, and Oworonshoki transmission stations in Lagos.

According to Ajibade, the project would improve the ability to transport electricity by over 1,000 megawatts upon completion.

Source: Legit.ng

Online view pixel