List of 15 States that Have Fully Implemented N30,000 Minimum Wage for Teachers

List of 15 States that Have Fully Implemented N30,000 Minimum Wage for Teachers

Three years after President Muhammadu Buhari signed the National Minimum Wage Act into law, only teachers in primary and secondary schools in 15 states and the FCT are enjoying the N30,000 wage increase.

This was disclosed by the Nigeria Union of Teachers (NUT), The Nation reported.

15 States/ Implemented N30,000 Minimum Wage/Teachers
Only 15 states that have fully implemented N30,000 minimum wage for teachers. Photo credits: Gov Nyesom Ezenwo Wike - CON, Babajide Sanwo-Olu, Udom Emmanuel, Governor David Nweze Umahi
Source: Facebook

States that have fully implemented the wage increase are:

  1. Akwa Ibom
  2. Ebonyi
  3. Edo
  4. Ekiti
  5. Jigawa
  6. Kano
  7. Katsina
  8. Kwara
  9. Lagos
  10. Ogun
  11. Ondo
  12. Osun
  13. Oyo
  14. Plateau
  15. Rivers
  16. FCT.

PAY ATTENTION: Share your outstanding story with our editors! Please reach us through!

States with partial implementation

There is a partial implementation in Kogi, Cross River; Kaduna and Yobe have reverted to the N18,000 minimum of 2011.

The N30,000 minimum wage was signed into law by President Buhari in April 2019 after a long battle with Organised Labour.

15 states that fail to implement N30,000 minimum wage for teachers

The states are:

  1. Abia
  2. Bayelsa
  3. Delta
  4. Enugu
  5. Nasarawa
  6. Adamawa
  7. Gombe
  8. Niger
  9. Borno
  10. Sokoto
  11. Anambra
  12. Imo
  13. Benue
  14. Taraba
  15. Zamfara

Top five states with highest external debt

Meanwhile, with Naira going through a rough patch against the US dollar, servicing the external debts of 36 states in Nigeria has become more expensive.

Data from the Debt Management Office (DMO) showed that as of December 2021 the total external debt stock of 36 subnational governments and the Federal Capital Territory Abuja stood at $4.77 billion.

As of December 2021, the states with the highest external debts were Lagos, Kaduna, Cross River, Edo, and Rivers.

States owing workers one month to three years salary as of July 2022

Earlier, reported that a new BudgIT report revealed a list of 12 state governors who have refused to pay the monthly salaries accruable to civil service workers in their states as and when due.

The report, which was compiled by BudgIT, a civic-tech organisation on advocacy for transparency and accountability in Nigeria’s public finance, revealed that the states owe their workers at least one month’s salary as of July 28, 2022.

The organisation expressed displeasure over the condition the civil servants are forced to survive on. While speaking about the current realities of affected workers, Iniobong Usen, BudgIT’s Head of Research and Policy Advisory, noted that civil servants’ remuneration, whether at the state or federal level – as and when due – is a necessary part of the employer/employee relationship, Nairametrics reports.


Online view pixel