Six Female Ministers Join Buhari's Cabinet

Six Female Ministers Join Buhari's Cabinet

Nigerian President Muhammadu Buhari swore 36 ministers into his cabinet on Wednesday, ending a five-month wait for Africa's most populous nation. And it seems that the former military ruler has embraced democratic tenets that will give room for female participation in his government.

Kemi Adeosun, the Minister of Finance

Six Female Ministers Join Buhari's Cabinet
Mrs Kemi Adeosun

One of the first surprise appointment was that of the Minister of Finance, Mrs Kemi Adeosun. Though she was the commissioner of finance in south-western Ogun State, many believed she lacks the experience to handle the finance portfolio of Africa's biggest economy. She is one of the youngest ministers in the cabinet.

READ ALSO: Buhari Reveals Minister For Youth And Sports (Photo)


Aisha Abubakar, the Minister of State, Trade, Industry & Investment

Six Female Ministers Join Buhari's Cabinet
Aisha Abubakar

Aisha, a technocrat and international banker was picked to be Minister of State, Trade, Industry & Investment by President Muhammadu Buhari. She was described as a role model to the rising intellectual women who struggled daily on gender equality in the predominantly conservative Northern state of Sokoto. Aisha is daughter of former permanent secretary and Finance Minister Alhaji Abubakar Alhaji and current Sardauna of Sokoto.

Aisha Jummai Al-Hassan, the Minister of Women Affairs

Six Female Ministers Join Buhari's Cabinet
Aisha Jummai Al-Hassan

Aisha Jummai Al-Hassan is a Nigerian politician who is a Senator representing Taraba North constituency of Taraba State, which she won under the platform of the People's Democratic Party (PDP). She later decamped to the main opposition party All Progressive Congress (APC) and became the Gubernatorial Candidate of Taraba State for the 2015 general elections. She was defeated in the election re-run held on 25th of April 2015, but on 7 November 2015 tribunal removes Taraba Governor, Darius Ishaku, declares Aisha Alhassan of the All Progressives Congress winner of April 11, 2015 poll.

READ ALSO: READ What Nigerians Have To Say About New Ministers And Their Portfolios

Hajia Zainab Shamsuna Ahmed, the Minister of State Budget and National Planning

Six Female Ministers Join Buhari's Cabinet
Zainab Shamsuna Ahmed

Zainab Shamsuna Ahmed is the Executive Secretary of Nigeria Extractive Industries Transparency Initiative (NEITI).Until her appointment Mrs. Ahmed was a Member of the National Stakeholders Working Group (NSWG) of NEITI and the former Managing Director, Kaduna Industrial and Finance Company. She holds a degree in Accounting from the Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria and Masters in Business Administration. Mrs. Zainab Ahmed is a member of Association of National Accountants of Nigeria and Fellow, Institute of Certified Company Commercial Accountants of Nigeria among other professional organisations.

Amina Mohammed, the Minister for Environment

Six Female Ministers Join Buhari's Cabinet
Amina Mohammed

Amina J. Mohammed, an indigene of Yobe State in Northern Nigeria, is the Secretary-General’s Special Adviser on Post-2015 Development Planning. Ms. Mohammed was previously Senior Special Assistant to the President of Nigeria on the Millennium Development Goals after serving three Presidents over a period of six years. In 2005 she was charged with the coordination of the debt relief funds ($1 billion per annum) towards the achievement of Millennium Development Goals in Nigeria. From 2002-2005, Ms. Mohammed served as coordinator of the Task Force on Gender and Education for the United Nations Millennium Project.

Khadija Abba Ibrahim, Minister of State Foreign Affairs

Six Female Ministers Join Buhari's Cabinet
Khadija Abba Ibrahim

Honourable Khadija Bukar Abba Ibrahim is a 3rd-term member of the House of Representatives. She is the wife of the first civilian Governor of Yobe State, Senator Buka Abba Ibrahim. Her father, the late Alhaji Ibrahim Waziri was the proponent of ‘politics without bitterness’, and former presidential aspirant in the second republic and founder of the Great Nigeria People’s Party (GNPP).


Online view pixel