READ Official Results Of 2015 Governorship Election

READ Official Results Of 2015 Governorship Election

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) starts the official announcement of the results of the April 11 elections in Nigeria.

Collation centres in the 29 states are in the process of computing, before the official announcements would be made by the RECs.

See the official winners and all the crucial information from the states:

North Central

Nasarawa state: Governor Umaru Almakura of the APC confidently defeats his closest opponent, Labaran Maku of the APGA, with the following results:

APC - 309,746

APGA - 178,983

PDP - 119,782.

Benue state: The INEC has declared the governorship candidate of the APC, Chief Samuel Ortom, as the winner of the election.

APC - 422,932

PDP - 313,878.

Terhemen Tarzor, the PDP candidate, has congratulated Ortom on his victory.

The APC governorship candidate, Abubakar Sani Bello, has been declared winner of the Niger state governorship election.

APC -  593,702

PDP -  239,772.

Plateau state gubernatorial election has put the APC gubernatorial candidate, Simon Bako Lalong, as a winner.

APC - 564,913

PDP - 520,627.

In Kwara state Governor Abdul Fatah Ahmed confidently defeats his challenger, Senator Simeon Ajibola, with the following official result:

APC - 295,832

PDP - 115,220

LP - 2,973.

South West

Lagos state: Jimi Agbaje (PDP) congratulates, prays for Akinwunmi Ambode (APC). The official result:

APC - 811,994

PDP - 659,788

AD - 6,087.

Oyo state governor, Abiola Ajimobi (APC), is officially re-elected for the second term. INEC returning officer, Prof Ayobami Salami, read the result of governorship poll:

APC - 327,310

Accord - 254,520

LP - 184,111

PDP - 79,019.

Ogun REC, Prof Duro Oni, declares the APC candidate, Ibikunle Amosun, the winner of the governorship poll.

APC - 306,988

PDP - 201,440

SDP - 25,826.

South South

Delta state: Senator Ifeanyi Arthur Okowa (PDP) beat his closest rival, Chief Great Ogboru (LP), and was declared winner of governorship election.

PDP - 724,680

LP - 130,028

APC - 67,825.

Cross River state: the PDP governorship candidate, Prof. Ben Ayade, has been declared the winner of the governorship election.

PDP - 342,016

APC - 53,983

LP - 36,918.

Nyesom Wike (PDP) was returned as governor-elect for Rivers state.

PDP - 1,029,102

APC - 124,896.

Results from Akwa Ibom have been announced by the collating officer. Emmanuel Udom Gabriel (PDP) is the governor-elect:

PDP - 996,071

APC - 89,865

LP - 86,000.

South East

The results of governorship election in Abia state stalemated mid-way following the reversal of the cancellation of three local governments results by the returning officer, Prof Benjamin Ozumba.

According to the latest update, on April 13 the INEC declared Abia state governorship election inconclusive.

Engr Dave Umahi (PDP) is the winner of the April 11 governorship election in Ebonyi state.

PDP - 289,867

LP - 124,817

APC - 27,583.

Finally, results for Imo state announced. Rochas Okorocha emerges winner beating Chukwuemeka Ihedioha. Imo PDP says it will not accept the governorship election outcome, alleging that Okorocha was favoured.

APC - 392,093

PDP - 307,197.

According to the latest update, the INEC says Imo state election is inconclusive.

Areas where results were cancelled have voting population of about 144,000, which is higher than the difference between the APC and the PDP.

Enugu state official results: Ugwuanyi Ifeanyi Lawrence (PDP) is the winner.

PDP - 482,277

APC - 43,839

APGA - 3,303.

North West

Abdulaziz Yari of the APC has been re-elected as the governor of Zamfara state.

APC - 716,964

PDP - 201,938

APGA - 2,385.

Kano state deputy governor, Abdullahi Umar Ganduje, defeated his PDP counterpart, Salihu Takaihas, and was declared the winner of the governorship election.

APC -  1,546,434

PDP - 509,726.

Speaker Aminu Waziri Tambuwal (APC) has been officially declared the winner in Sokoto state:

APC - 647,609

PDP - 269,074.

Jigawa state has decided, choosing Abubakar Badaru, the APC governorship candidate.

APC - 648,045

PDP - 479,447.

The state has been under PDP since 1999, when the country returned to the democratic rule.

The PDP lost one more state, as Aminu Bello Masari (APC) has been declared the winner in Katsina state:

APC - 943,085

PDP - 476,768

APGA - 42,302.

Nasir El-Rufai (APC) is officially victorious in Kaduna state. Mukhtar Ramalan Yero (PDP) conceded the defeat.

APC - 1,117,635

PDP - 485,833

APGA - 20,140.

Kebbi state: Senator Atiku Bagudu (APC) emerges the winner with the following result:

APC - 477,376

PDP - 293,443.

North East

Adamawa state: Mohammed Umar Jibrilla Bindow of the APC has been officially declared the winner of the governorship election in the state.

APC - 362,329

SDP - 181,806

PDP - 98,917.

Borno state: Kashim Shettima, the APC governorship candidate, is in comfortable lead.

APC - 649,913

PDP - 34,731.

The PDP candidate, Darius Dickson Ishaku, was ahead in the governorship election in Taraba state with result from one local government area pending. However, the INEC declared the poll inconclusive on April 13, 2015, Monday. The date for the supplementary election would be announced soon.

Barr. Mohammed Abubakar (APC) is the winner of the April 11 governorship election in Bauchi state.

APC - 654,934

PDP - 282,650.

Yobe state: Governor Ibrahim Gaidam got re-elected. The result of the INEC declaration is:

APC - 334,847

PDP - 179,700.

Governor Ibrahim Hassan Dankwambo (PDP) retains his seat in Gombe state.

PDP - 285,369

APC - 205,132.


Khadijah Thabit avatar

Khadijah Thabit (Copyeditor) Khadijah Thabit is an editor with over 3 years of experience editing and managing contents such as articles, blogs, newsletters and social leads. She has a BA in English and Literary Studies from the University of Ibadan, Nigeria. Khadijah joined in September 2020 as a copyeditor and proofreader for the Human Interest, Current Affairs, Business, Sports and PR desks. As a grammar police, she develops her skills by reading novels and dictionaries. Email:

Online view pixel