Ogun House of Assembly sacks deputy speaker, impeached lawmaker reacts

Ogun House of Assembly sacks deputy speaker, impeached lawmaker reacts

- The Ogun House of Assembly has taken a very punitive measure against its deputy speaker, Dare Kadiri

- Kadiri was on Thursday, March 3, impeached by the House

- The former deputy speaker had an allegation of misconduct hanging over his head before his impeachment

PAY ATTENTION: Join Legit.ng Telegram channel! Never miss important updates!

The deputy speaker of the Ogun state House of Assembly, Dare Kadiri, was on Thursday, March 4, impeached by the legislative body.

The impeachment of Kadiri came after an allegation of gross misconduct was made against him, The Nation reports.

An investigative committee led by Honourable Yusuff Sherrif had been set up by the House of Assembly to look into claims against the former deputy speaker.

BREAKING: Ogun state House of Assembly sacks deputy speaker
Kadiri was impeached over an allegation of gross misconduct (Photo: @OgunNG)
Source: Twitter

However, a report by Nigerian Tribune has claimed that Kadiri, in a swift reaction to his impeachment, described it as illegal.

Read also

I will not hesitate to sack any disloyal aide, Akeredolu threatens

The embattled lawmaker also insisted that he remains the deputy speaker of the House, while consultations with his lawyers for the best way to deal with the issue.

He said:

“I just received the news of my purported impeachment based on the report of an ad-hoc committee set up by the Ogun state House of Assembly. The development, to say the least, was grossly unconstitutional and illegal.
“However, I have initiated consultation with my lawyers to fashion out the best possible way to address this infraction. I urge my teeming supporters, constituents and members of my political party in Ijebu North II State Constituency to remain calm as the issues that threw up this unwarranted action are sorted."

Meanwhile, many top members of the Allied People’s Movement (APM) have dumped the party.

The people that defected are seven in number and are also members of the Ogun House of Assembly. Specifically, they dumped the APM for the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC).

Read also

2023: APC holds defection talks with former speaker of House of Reps

Legit.ng reports that the lawmakers announced their defection in separate letters read by the Speaker, Olakunle Oluomo (APC – Ifo1) during a plenary in Abeokuta.

Those that defected are:

1. Ganiyu Oyedeji (Ifo 11)

2. Musefiu Lamidi (Ado-Odo/Ota 11)

3. Yusuf Amosun (Ewekoro)

4. Sikiratu Ajibola (Ipokia)

5. Bolanle Ajayi (Yewa South)

6. Adeniran Ademola (Sagamu 11)

7. Modupe Mujota-Onikepo (Abeokuta North).

With this, out of the 26 members of the House, APC had 22, PDP, one and ADC, three. Legit.ng had also reported that one of the opposition parties in Nigeria, the All Progressive Grand Alliance (APGA) was hit by defection as a member of the House of Representatives, Herman Hembe, joined the ruling APC.

PAY ATTENTION: Install our latest app for Android, read best news on Nigeria’s #1 news app

It was reported that Hembe announced his defection from the APGA to the APC on Tuesday, December 8, 2020, during a plenary session.

Read also

APC in trouble as opposition parties inaugurate merger committee

Onyirioha Nnamdi is a graduate of Literature and English Language at the University of Lagos. He is a Politics/Current Affairs Editor who writes on news and political topics for Legit.ng. He brings into his reporting a wealth of experience in creative and analytical writing. Nnamdi has a major interest in local and global politics.

Source: Legit.ng

Online view pixel