Bauchi bye-election: INEC declares APC winner in Dass constituency

Bauchi bye-election: INEC declares APC winner in Dass constituency

- Dass constituency in Bauch has been won by the APC in the state's bye-election

- INEC declared APC winner of the poll on Sunday, December 6

- The APC's candidate, Bala Lukshi, polled 12,299 votes flooring his PDP opponent who claimed 11,062 votes

PAY ATTENTION: Click “See First” under the “Following” tab to see News on your Facebook News Feed!

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared the All Progressives Congress (APC) winner of the bye-election in Dass constituency, Bauchi.

The candidate of the APC in the state, Bala Lukshi, was on Sunday, December 6, declared the winner INEC's returning officer, Prof. Ahmed Mohammed of Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University (ATBU).

According to Mohammed, Lukshi polled 12,299, while his rival, Lawal Wundi of Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) claimed 11,062 votes, The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports.

He added that the total registered voters across the electoral wards in the area were 58,112, while the electoral officers accredited 24,546 for the election, adding that the votes cast was 24,376 and the valid votes were 24,020 with rejected votes of 356.

Read also

Breaking: Huge defeat for APC as ex-governor Seriake Dickson wins Bayelsa senatorial by-election

Bauchi bye-election: INEC declares APC winner in Dass constituency
INEC as declared APC's candidate in Dass constituency of Bauchi, Bala Lukshi, winner of the bye-election (Photo: @APCNigeria)
Source: Twitter

PAY ATTENTION: Get the Latest Nigerian News Anywhere 24/7. Spend less on the Internet!

Among political parties that fielded candidates for the poll were PDP, APC, the African Democratic Congress, ADC, the Young Progressives Party, YPP, Zenith Labour Party, ZLP, National Rescue Movement, New Nigeria Peoples Party, and the Social Democratic Party.

Meanwhile, the candidate of the APC in the Lagos East senatorial bye-election, Tokunbo Abiru, had been declared the winner of the exercise.

Abiru claimed a landslide victory over his opponent, Babatunde Gbadamosi of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), in all the local government areas: Epe, Ibeju-Lekki, Kosofe, Shomolu and Ikorodu.

The ACP candidate polled 89,204 votes while his PDP rival was able to secure only 11,257 votes, leaving a very massive margin of 77,947 votes.

INEC conducted a by-election to fill up the vacant seat belonging to the Lagos East senatorial district in the Senate.

Read also

BREAKING: Confusion in Zamfara as INEC cancels bye-election, staff go missing

Five other senatorial by-elections are also being conducted across the country on Saturday, December 5.

APC sacks NWC, appoints caretaker committee | Legit TV


Online view pixel