2019 election: Aliero retains Kebbi Central senatorial seat

2019 election: Aliero retains Kebbi Central senatorial seat

- Adamu Aliero of the APC has retained the Kebbi Central Senate seat

- The FCT minister was announced winner by INEC returning officer, Kasimu Shehu

- Aliero polled a total number of 232,000 votes to defeat PDP candidate Shehu Abubakar

Former FCT minister, Senator Adamu Aliero of All Progressives Congress (APC), has won Saturday’s February 23 Kebbi Central senatorial poll.

Aliero, the current senator representing the area, was announced winner with 232,000 by the INEC returning officer, Prof. Kasimu Shehu, in Birnin Kebbi on Monday, February 25.

The returning officer said Shehu Abubakar of Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) came second with 75,638 votes.

READ ALSO: Follow Live updates: INEC begins official declaration of presidential election results

The senatorial zone is made up of Aliero, Gwandu, Jega, Bunza, Koko/Besse, Kalgo, Birnin Kebbi and Maiyama local government areas of Kebbi.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that Aliero was governor of Kebbi from 1999 to 2007 and also won the senatorial seat in 2007 and 2015 elections.

PAY ATTENTION: Download our mobile app to enjoy the latest news update

Meanwhile, Legit.ng previously reported that the Senate leader, Ali Ndume of the All Progressives Congress (APC), had emerged winner of the Southern Borno senatorial constituency election.

Ndume was declared winner on Sunday, February 24, in Biu by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) having scored the highest votes cast in the Saturday’ February 23 election.

NAIJ.com (naija.ng) upgrades to Legit.ng to serve its readers better.

2019 Election: Presidential candidate, party leaders react to announced results| Legit TV

Source: Legit.ng

Mailfire view pixel