Breaking: Dino Melaye, 14 other senators decamp from APC to PDP (full list, video)

Breaking: Dino Melaye, 14 other senators decamp from APC to PDP (full list, video)

- Fifteen senators dumped the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) for the opposition Peoples Democratic Party (PDP)

- The senators were led by Dino Melaye and Rabiu Kwankwaso of Kogi and Kano states

- A list of the defectors was received by the Senate president Bukola Saraki

There was a rowdy session at the National Assembly on Tuesday, July 24, as 15 senators dumped the ruling APC.

The senators, including Dino Melaye and Abdul-Azeez Nyako, announced their defection at the Senate plenary on Tuesday, July 24.

READ ALSO: Saraki presides over Senate after reportedly escapes from police blockade of residence

The list containing the senators' names was handed over to Bukola Saraki, the president of the Senate, who managed to get to the plenary after a reported blockade in the morning.

Below is a full list of the 15 enators who joined the PDP today:

1. Senator Lanre Tejouso

2. Senator Shaaba Lafiagi

3. Senator Gemade

4. Senator Dino Melaye

PAY ATTENTION: Read the news on Nigeria’s #1 news app

5. Senator Soji Akanbi

6. Senator Rafiu

7. Senator Shittu Ubali

8. Senator Isa Misau

9. Senator Suleiman Hunkuyi

10. Senator Monsurat

11. Senator Abdullahi Danbaba

12. Senator Bayero Nafada

13. Senator Suleiman Nazif

14. Senator Rabiu Kwankwaso

15. Senator Abdul-Azeez Murtala Nyako

READ ALSO: 9 indicting statements IGP Idris made in letter to Saraki over Offa bank robbery

Meanwhile, previously reported that officers of the Nigeria Police had blocked the Senate president from honouring an invitation by the Inspector General of Police.

The IGP had invited Saraki for further interrogation on his involvement in the killing of many residents of Offa in a recent robbery attack in the town.

Street Gist: Should the Nigerian Senate be scrapped? - on TV

Source: News

Online view pixel