Saraki, Dogara to join Oshiomhole as he declares for APC chairmanship

Saraki, Dogara to join Oshiomhole as he declares for APC chairmanship

- Adams Oshiomhole has declared that he will be running for APC chairmanship

- The former governor said he will be joined by top members of the party

- According to him, he has what it takes to lead the party

Former governor of Edo, Adams Oshiomhole, on Wednesday, May 9, announced that he would declare his bid for the national chairmanship of All Progressives Congress (APC) in Abuja on Thursday.

He told newsmen in Benin that the president of the Senate Bukola Saraki and House of Representatives Speaker Yakubu Dogara, would join top members of the party at the occasion.

Oshiomhole said that Imo governor, Rochas Okorocha, would lead governors elected on the party’s platform to the declaration which would hold at TRANSCORP Hilton.

READ ALSO: International media reacts to Buhari's UK medical trip

The former governor is favoured to replace outgoing chairman of the party, Chief John Odigie-Oyegun, after he received the endorsement of President Muhammadu Buhari.

Oshiomhole said he was joining the chairmanship race to contribute to the growth of the party.

According to him, it is true that I intend to make my ambition known to our party members and Nigerians.

“I strongly believe that with the experience I have gathered in my public life, having served as President of NLC, governor of Edo, I have what it takes to take our dear party, the ruling party, to the next level," he said.

Meanwhile, there are indications that the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) is compiling a ‘unity list’ of a new set of its National Working Committee (NWC) members.

PAY ATTENTION: Install our latest app for Android, read best news on Nigeria’s #1 news app

Saturday Tribune reports that governors who are perceived to be loyal to President Muhammadu Buhari are believed to have finally endorsed former Edo state governor, Adams Oshiomhole, for the chairmanship of the party.

The governors who include Nasir El-Rufai (Kaduna state), Yahaya Bello (Kogi state), Ibikunle Amosun (Ogun state) and Rotimi Akeredolu (Ondo state), reportedly endorsed him after extracting commitments from him not to be controlled by any leader other than President Buhari.

The former governor reportedly gave the assurance that he would be fair to all.

Should President Buhari seek reelection in 2019? on TV


Online view pixel