Pro-Buhari govs, Saraki’s group reportedly reach agreement with Oshiomhole

Pro-Buhari govs, Saraki’s group reportedly reach agreement with Oshiomhole

- Some governors perceived to be loyal to President Buhari have reportedly endorsed Adams Oshiomhole for the chairmanship position of the party

- Senator Bukola Saraki camp also reportedly endorsed Oshiomhole after some trade-offs by the former Edo state governor

- According to report, this new arrangement, puts Oshiomhole atop the unity list as the national chairman-designate of the party

There are indications that the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) is compiling a ‘unity list’ of a new set of its National Working Committee (NWC) members.

Saturday Tribune reports that governors who are perceived to be loyal to President Muhammadu Buhari are believed to have finally endorsed former Edo state governor, Adams Oshiomhole, for the chairmanship of the party.

The governors who include Nasir El-Rufai (Kaduna state), Yahaya Bello (Kogi state), Ibikunle Amosun (Ogun state) and Rotimi Akeredolu (Ondo state), reportedly endorsed him after extracting commitments from him not to be controlled by any leader other than President Buhari.

The former governor reportedly gave the assurance that he would be fair to all.

READ ALSO: There is no president in Nigeria that has ever managed the economy like Buhari - Gov Ajimobi

Senate president Bukola Saraki’s camp has also reportedly bought into the Oshiomhole for national chairman project.

A government source in the southwest reportedly said that despite the initial objection of a certain southwest governor to Oshiomhole’s intention to lead the party, he and other governors have finally closed ranks on his endorsement.

The southwest governor and some of his other colleagues in the north, had been the ones supporting the agenda to keep the incumbent chairman, John Odigie-Oyegun, for another four years, but they finally joined others in endorsing Oshiomhole.

With this new arrangement, Oshiomhole is sitting atop the unity list as the national chairman-designate of the party.

According to a party link, the original plan of the groups was to shock anti-Oyegun elements at the convention, adding, “At least, the election which they demanded would have taken place and their candidate (Oshiomhole) would have lost.

PAY ATTENTION: Install our latest app for Android, read best news on Nigeria’s #1 news app

Oshiomhole is seen as former Lagos state governor, Bola Tinubu’s choice and anointed for the position of national chairman.

Meanwhile earlier report by indicated that the ruling APC is clearing the coast for President Buhari to emerge as its sole candidate ahead of it's primary election later this year.

According to the report, despite the subtle clash of interests raging in the APC ahead of its planned national congress scheduled to hold in June, it is unlikely that any member of the party would contest with President Buhari in the party’s primaries.

Buhari, who informed the APC National Executive Council (NEC) recently about his interest to seek reelection in the coming presidential election has been endorsed by the 24 governors of the party.

Should President Buhari seek reelection in 2019? on TV


Online view pixel