Supreme Court confirms past verdict, sacks Hembe from House of Reps

Supreme Court confirms past verdict, sacks Hembe from House of Reps

- The Supreme Court denies request by ousted lawmaker, Herman Hembe, to refer his case to a lower court for retrial

- The apex court awards the sum of N1million against Hembe in favour of Dorathy Mato, the defendant

The Supreme Court has confirmed its past verdict which sacked lawmaker, Herman Hembe, representing Vandeikiya/Konshisha federal constituency of Benue state from the House of Representatives.

READ ALSO: IPOB has brought distrust to Igbo people among other ethnic groups - Okorocha

The apex court had declared Mrs Dorathy Mato winner of the APC party ticket for the constituency and asked Hembe to vacate his seat at the lower chamber.

The court also demanded that the ousted lawmaker returned all monies he earned in the House of Representatives since 2015.

But the lawmaker approached the Supreme Court again to refer the case to a lower court for retrial.

However, Hembe's request was denied as the court validated its earlier decision sacking him from the House of Representatives, Premium Times reports.

PAY ATTENTION: Watch more videos on TV

The court also awarded the sum of N1million against Mr. Hembe in favour of Dorathy Mato, the defendant.

Meanwhile, the Socio-Economic Rights and Accountability Project (SERAP) has accepted an invitation from the Senate president, Bukola Saraki to visit the National Assembly to discuss matters of public interest.

Timothy Adewale, SERAP's deputy director said representatives of the group will on Thursday, September 21, honour an invitation of the Senate president to visit the Assembly, Premium Times reports.

He disclosed that the Thursday meeting which has been scheduled for 1pm at the National Assembly complex follows SERAP’s request to Saraki to urgently explain to Nigerians if it is true that a Nigerian Senator gets N29 million in monthly pay, and over N3 billion a year.

In the video below, a Nigerian man expresses regrets for voting for the All Progressives Congress in the last elections.


Online view pixel