Catholic Diocese of Nnewi releases names of victims of the St. Phillips Catholic Church massacre

Catholic Diocese of Nnewi releases names of victims of the St. Phillips Catholic Church massacre

- The Bishop of the Diocese, Hilary Odili Okeke, called on various groups of people including companies and associations, to make donations which would be used to take care of the victims

- According to Okeke, the diocese would ensure that it keeps accurate records of the contributions and how they are distributed to the victims

- From the statement released there are 22 surviving victims, while the number of those who died during the attack has risen to 13

The names of the victims of the gruesome attack at the St. Philip’s Catholic Church, Ozubulu, Anambra state, have been released by the Catholic Diocese of Nnewi.

According to reports, the names were released in a statement issued by the Bishop of the Diocese Hilary Odili Okeke on Wednesday August 9.

READ ALSO: Anambra Election: Oyegun is a virus within APC - Willie Obiano gathers that in the statement, the Bishop also noted that the death toll had climbed to 13, and called for donations to aid in caring for the victims.

The statement read in part: “Anybody, parish, institution, company, society, association or group that would like to join the diocese in providing assistance to the victims and their families can send their contributions.

“We shall keep accurate records of contribution and distribution of the funds.”

The surviving victims were listed as follows:

1. Ikegwuonu Caroline

2. Nwakile Anthonia

3. Okoye Odinaka

4. Okoye Patricia

5. Isaac Chinedu

6. Oramadike Chinagorom

7. Oramadike Chinecherem

8. Udegbunam Chidimma

9. Ndulue Samuel

10. Udegbunam Obiageli

11. Ugochi Obiajulu

12. Chukwueloka Chineze

13. Oramadike Chioma

14. Azuka Basil

15. Oramadike Chiamaka

16. Uchechukwu Chukwueloka

17. Nwanya Ngozi

18. Ngwuta Chinemelum

19. Asomba Chukwudum

20. Nnudule Leonard

21. Muomah Michael

22. Oramadike Favour

Out of the 22 injured victims, 2 individuals have now been discharged from the hospital while the others remain on admission in various hospital wards.

Names of dead victims:

1. Cyprian Ikegwuonu

2. Hyacinth Oramadike

3. Cecilia Ewin

4. Eunice Akanigbo

5. Rose Okoye

6. Anulika Obunadike

7. Uchenna Obunadike

8. Anthonia Ufondu

9. Oluchukwu Uhelu

10. Christiana Igbeja

11. Udeze Pauline

12. Victoria Uzokwe

13. Florence Nweke

Gunmen had stormed the church on Sunday August 6, opening fire on parishioners.

PAY ATTENTION: Install our latest app for Android, read best news on Nigeria’s #1 news app

Meanwhile, previously reported that the governor of Anambra state Willie Obiano, insisted that the deadly killing that took place in a church in the Ozubulu area of the state was committed by two business partners from the same town.

This is contrary to the position taken by the leader of the Indigenous People Of Biafra (IPOB) Nnamdi Kanu, who alleged that the crime was committed by herdsmen.

Watch this TV video about the alleged appearance of the image of Jesus Christ in a church in Ikorodu:


Online view pixel