LGBT: Full List of African Countries that Signed Samoa Agreement

LGBT: Full List of African Countries that Signed Samoa Agreement

The Samoa Agreement is a comprehensive partnership agreement that addresses various aspects of economic development, security, environment, migration, mobility, and climate change. It also covers investment opportunities, sustainable development, and mutually beneficial cooperation among its signatory countries.

The agreement has been signed by 79 countries worldwide, including 48 African, 16 Caribbean, and 15 Pacific nations. Its objective is to serve as the legal framework for EU relations with these countries, promoting economic development, democracy, and human rights.

Nigeria, Ghana, South Africa top 76 African countries that signed the Samoa Agreement. The full
African countries that signed the Samoa Agreement Photo Credit: @CyrilRamaphosa, officialABAT, @NAkufoAddo
Source: Twitter

By signing the Samoa Agreement, these countries aim to address global challenges and promote cooperation in various areas. The agreement provides a platform for its members to work together towards sustainable development, economic growth, and improved living standards for their citizens.

According to The Cable, ACP countries, including Nigeria, declined to sign the Samoa Agreement due to the inclusion of sexual orientation and gender identity, which is interpreted as LGBTQ+ rights.

Read also

LGBT: List of Muslim-majority countries that signed Samoa Agreement

A compromise was eventually reached. The parties agreed to promote, protect, and fulfil all human rights, including civil, political, economic, social, and cultural rights, without specifically mentioning sexual orientation and gender identity. This compromise allowed the agreement to progress despite some countries' initial reservations.

In Nigeria, the federal government confirmed signing the Samoa Agreement, which some have criticized for potentially promoting LGBTQ+ rights. However, the government has clarified that the agreement does not supersede Nigeria's laws, including the 2014 legislation against same-sex relationships.

Below is a list of 48 African countries parties to the Samoa agreement, in which Nigeria was included:

South Africa

South Africa is the southernmost country on the continent, and its diverse landscape includes beautiful coastlines, deserts, and mountains. It is known for its vibrant cities, stunning natural beauty, and complex history.

Read also

LGBTQ: 10 things to know about the Samoa agreement

Nigeria and South Africa have a long bilateral relationship and strong mutual respect.


Nigeria's West African neighbour is one of the 79 and 48 African countries that have signed the Samoa Agreement.

Ghana is a close neighbour of Nigeria in the regional bloc. The two countries have a close relationship with their citizens, expressing mild rivalries on social media.

The Republic of Benin

Benin, a small country in West Africa, is known for its rich cultural heritage, beautiful beaches, and vibrant music scene. It is home to a diverse range of ethnic groups and has a long history of political stability.

The West African country is one of the signatories to the Samoa Agreement and was among the ACP countries.

Burkina Faso

Burkina Faso, a landlocked country in West Africa, is known for its vibrant music scene, beautiful natural scenery, and rich cultural heritage. It has a diverse range of ethnic groups and a long history of political instability.

Read also

Explainer: Has Tinubu's govt legalised LGBTQ in Nigeria by signing $150bn Samoa deal?

The West African country, which is another black nation to the signatories, borders Ghana, Mali, Benin, Ivory Coast and Niger Republic.


Another Nigerian labour and West African country is another country in the black country that has a signatory to the agreement.

The country is known for its diverse natural scenery, including mountains, forests, and coastlines. It has a diverse range of ethnic groups and a long history of political stability.

Other African countries are:

Angola, Cape Verde, Botswana, Burundi, Central African Republic, Comoros, Congo (Brazzaville), Congo (Kinshasa), Côte d'Ivoire, Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Equatorial Guinea, Kenya, Lesotho, Madagascar, Liberia, Malawi, Mali, Mauritius, Islamic Republic of Mauritania, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Uganda, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, Sudan, Eswatini, Tanzania, Chad, Togo, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

Tinubu denies alleged plans to legalize LGBT earlier reported that the federal government had denied the report that President Bola Tinubu was planning to introduce LGBT rights into the country.

Read also

Tinubu denies plan to legalise LGBT rights in Nigeria

Clarifying the rumour clauses in the Samoa Agreement, the presidency said Nigeria's law superseded the agreement.

The government assured that President Tinubu would not sign any agreement that would contradict the interest of Nigerians.


Bada Yusuf avatar

Bada Yusuf (Politics and Current Affairs Editor) Yusuf Amoo Bada is an accomplished politics and current affairs editor, boasting over 7 years of experience in journalism and writing. He is a graduate of OAU, and holds Diploma in Mass Comm. and BA in Literature in English. He has obtained certificates in Leadership and received the "Certificate for Breakthrough of the Year 2022" in recognition of his great performance during his first year at Worked as Editor with OperaNews. Contact: or call 08161717844