Omicron Variant: Hard Times As Canada Takes Strong Decision Against Nigeria, 9 Other Countries

Omicron Variant: Hard Times As Canada Takes Strong Decision Against Nigeria, 9 Other Countries

The government of Canada has extended its travel ban to Nigeria over the growing fears of the Omicron variant of the COVID-19 virus.

In a travel advisory posted on its website on Tuesday, November 30, the government of Canada said its decision followed the detection of a classified B.1.1.529 called Omicron by the World Health Organisation.

The advisory statement was accessed from the website of the Government of Canada by reporter.

The statement said the announcement on the travel ban was announced by the Canadian minister of health, Jean-Yves Duclos; the minister of transport, Omar Alghabra, and the minister of public safety, Marco Mendicino.

Omicron Variant
In this photo illustration, a phone screen shows a text that says Omicron COVID-19 variant. Photo Illustration: Pavlo Gonchar/SOPA Images/LightRocket via Getty Images
Source: Getty Images

It said that the additional border measures are aimed at reducing the risk of the importation and transmission of COVID-19 and its variants into the country with relation to international travels.

Read also

Breaking: Finally, Canada lifts travel ban on Nigeria, nine other African countries

PAY ATTENTION: Install our latest app for Android, read best news on Nigeria’s #1 news app

The statement also said that based on existing data gathered from surveillance efforts across the globe by the Canadian government, the country is extending its travel ban list to 10 countries including Nigeria, Malawi and Egypt.

It said:

"Effective tomorrow (December 1), foreign nationals who have been in any of these countries within the previous 14 days will not be permitted entry into Canada."

Travel advisory and measures of key populations in Canada

The statement added that citizens of Candan, permanent residents and some others who have travelled to the banned countries, irrespective of their vaccination status would be subjected to enhanced testing, screening and quarantine measures.

The Canadian government warned that travellers who are not vaccinated but have the right of entry to Canada, will continue to be tested on arrival and day eight and quarantine for 14 days.

Read also

Omicron: UK yields to pressure, set to remove Nigeria from Red List

Meanwhile, those arriving by air into Canada will now be required to stay in a designated quarantine facility or other suitable location.

The travellers would remain in these facilities while they wait for the result of their on arrival test.

A full list of the countries on the Canada travel ban list are:

1. Botswana

2. Egypt;

3. Eswatini;

4. Lesotho;

5. Malawi;

6. Mozambique;

7. Namibia;

8. Nigeria;

9. South Africa and

10. Zimbabwe.

Concerns raised over the COVID-19 Omicron variant previously reported that experts had warned that the country risks a series of travel bans following the detection of the Omicron variant of the COVID-19 in South Africa.

One of the experts, Professor Oyewale Tomori, said the Nigeria Centre for Disease Control had failed in its responsibility of coordinating genomic sequencing of COVID-19 samples.

Tomori who is the chairman of the expert review on COVID-19 alleged that the NCDC has been bypassing samples to South Africa for testing despite having laboratories with the capability to run the process of genomic sequencing.

Read also

Breaking: Jubilation as UK removes Nigeria, 10 others from travel red list

Nigeria records two cases of Omicron COVID-19 variant

Also, the NCDC had on Tuesday, December 1, announced that Nigeria had recorded two cases of the Omicron variant of the disease.

A statement by the centre said genomic sequencing of previously confirmed cases among travellers to Nigeria also identified the Omicron variant.

The centre said the detection of the variant is from samples collected in October 2021 and that the two patients were asymptomatic and contact tracing had begun.


Online view pixel